Disaster Averted, and Playing Catch-Up

I do not know if you have noticed or not, but the past week or two I have pretty much neglected Dinner of Herbs.  {I think it has been noticed, since my blog stats have taken a serious hit, haha.}  The only reason there have been posts, is because I wrote them almost a month ago, and had them scheduled to post.

Ok, so I didn't really have this much stuff to move.  But it was plenty.
Ok, so I didn’t really have this much stuff to move. But it was plenty.

So why have I virtually neglected Dinner of Herbs?  It’s a long story.  I’m in my last year of pharmacy school, so I have 10 different 4-week unpaid internships that I have to do.  All of these internships are in different locations.  My lease on my apartment that I had been living in for the past 3 years was up on August 5th.  Until the evening of August 1st, I thought I knew where I was moving to for the next 2.5 months, before heading home for a few more months.

Well, due to some complications involving a potential $1,000 fine, apartment managers who go back on their word, and zoning laws, I found out I couldn’t move into where I thought I was going to be able to live.  And I had three days to find a place to live, pack up my current apartment, and move to this as-yet-unknown location.  Oh, and I also had to work a 10 hour day on Friday during all normal business hours, so calling apartment offices was also going to be rather difficult.

So, at about 8pm on a Thursday night I made a list of everyone in the area that I knew, and started calling and emailing people.   I also sent out an S.O.S. on facebook, desperate to find anything.

Lots of people messaged me with sympathy, or offers to crash on their couch for a night or two if necessary, but nothing substantial panned out.  I was quite impressed and grateful for the outpouring of offers to help–I even heard from people I haven’t seen or talked to in at least 3 years.  I also started to realize that I maybe needed to include in my S.O.S. message that I was allergic to cats.  Even the few people who offered to let me stay for a night or two had indoor cats, and as desperate as my situation was, I do rather value the ability to breathe.

Friday morning, I went to work, still not knowing what I was going to do.  Friday evening, I came home still without a place to live, and too depressed and discouraged to bother to pack anything.

Then, I got a text from a friend saying that she knew of two friends who were roommates in a house with an extra room.   !!!  I met one of the ladies the next day, and I moved in the following day.  It was a very long weekend full of packing, moving, coordinating my family who came to help me, and unpacking.

I barely got the bare necessities figured out before I started a week of 12-hour days.  This is the first chance I have had to breathe in almost a week and a half.  The first chance to fully unpack.  The first chance to cook and bake.  🙂

So, I still have long days at my internship, but I am no longer scrambling to find a place to live, or throwing things in boxes, or searching through boxes for that one item I accidentally packed prematurely.

Oh, in other news…

  • I bought a pizza stone for $1.06.  Yes, in the middle of all this craziness, I still managed to get my priorities straight.  🙂
Breaking in my pizza stone!  Sneak peek at a future post.  :-)
Breaking in my pizza stone! Sneak peek at a future post. 🙂
  • I FAILED at making peach cupcakes.  I had made the recipe before just fine, but when I made a few adjustments to make it healthier…it failed.  Even the icing, which I did not alter at all, failed.  The butter I used was old and had soaked up all the refrigerator smells and flavours.  Blergh.
DSC05950
The kitchen I am now in, is yellow. Violently yellow. So even with photo editting, my pictures are turning out very yellow. I am sorry.
peach puree
Peach puree…everything seemed to be going so well…

2 levels DSC05951

  • The boyfriend and I spent part of a weekend recently touring the local Parade of Homes.  I was unimpressed with all of the walk-in closets, and was disappointed in the almost complete lack of walk-in pantries.  Again, priorities.
Look at that fridge...a huge fridge, and a huge freezer.  Perfect.
Look at that fridge…a huge fridge, and a huge freezer. Perfect.
DOUBLE OVEN.
DOUBLE OVEN.
  • I’m now living in a house that was built in 1901.  And it is in the middle of being remodeled, at a very rapid pace.  I half expect to wake up at 3am one night, to find the owner of the house in my room, painting.  And I have jumped in and helped (in very minor ways).  I am getting caught up in the whole “re-do an old Victorian-style house”.  Since this is one of my dreams that I may never be able to realize for myself…I am living vicariously through the owner of the house.  Pictures will be coming, I promise.
  • I’m now living with 2 other ladies…who both like to cook.  The plus side: we have things in common to discuss, and I have access to lots of interesting cooking implements (multiple sizes of springform pans?  mini loaf pans? herb mortar and pestle?  Yes to all of the above.).  The downside?  3 people are frequently fighting over space in a small kitchen.
  • I’m really excited about all the new backgrounds and dishes I can use in pictures for Dinner of Herbs!
22 thoughts on “Disaster Averted, and Playing Catch-Up

  1. That sounds super stressful. Hope it improves although I’m thinking the 12 hour days are not going to help… I also bought that exact same pizza stone recently for what I thought was an amazing price but probably still ten times what you paid for it! And your peach cupcakes look delicious even if they didn’t turn out quite how you were hoping.

  2. What a nightmare. Apparently the stress of moving house is right up there with death and divorce so you did well to survive intact and still able to bake cup cakes! I hope you’re happy in your (temporary) new home and that you work out a rota for the use of the kitchen, lol.

    1. Fortunately there have been no deaths or divorces (or break-ups, in my case) involved! The combination might have been too much. I am quite happy in my new home–I am pretty sure that it is already turning out better than my original living arrangement plans!

  3. I’m so glad that it worked out for you! I’ve been extremely crazy myself, I’ve taken in a 17 year old that needed a home. So much to help him get done! I look forward to your posts when things settle.

  4. so glad things are coming together for you. You are definitely in a crazy phase of your life. You didn’t ask for advice, but will offer what I have from being in a more settled phase: enjoy the chaos!!! I’m married with kids and living in a suburb. We make our own adventures, but I do miss the days when anything was possible. Grass is always greener, I guess.

    Enjoy your new living arrangements. Sorry you had a spell of bad luck with unpleasant landlords 😦 And the peach cupcakes. (why were they a fail? didn’t look bad on the cooling rack.)

    And how did you score a $1 pizza stone? Nice!!!!

    1. Oh I don’t mind unsolicited advice! I am trying to enjoy the chaos–especially with living at this new place. I am forcing myself out of my comfort zone and trying to not be as introverted and quiet as usual, and instead am throwing myself into what’s going on. It’s only been a week, and it’s already totally different from my last living situation where my former roommates and I all lived very separate lives.
      I am also trying to enjoy living with a group of friends–well, technically ‘friends of a friend’, but we are becoming friends 🙂 –while I can. It will be quite different when I’m married, so this is my last chance!

      As for the peach cupcakes…~sigh~ When I took those pictures, I was all happy, because I thought I was going to have a fun, colourful post to write. Well…when my boyfriend and I decided to taste-test one, I tried to peel the liner off of the cupcake. It was stuck. I ended up having to pull so hard that when it finally started to come off, I accidentally flipped the cupcake upside down and dropped it on the table. The liner would NOT come off of the cupcake: all I did was rip the cupcake in half! And I mentioned how the old butter ruined the icing. Without the icing, the salvaged chunks of cupcake that I managed to get out of the center of the liners just tasted like muffins. Not even peach muffins…just…blah muffins. Muffins that had no sides or bottoms, that is.
      It was extra frustrating because I had plans to deliver some to friends, and leave some more for my new roommates and for guests who were coming that night. I was too worn out to try again, so I called it a day.

      The $1 pizza stone: Recently, a local store (Gordman’s–it’s like TJ Maxx) had a deal where they gave away $10 gift cards to the first 100 guests who showed up each day Fri-Sun. I managed to get a gift card on Saturday and Sunday. So I used one gift card to reduced a pizza stone from $11 to $1. I was quite happy. Not sure what I am going to use the other gift card on yet…but I have a feeling it will probably be for some kitchen item. 🙂

  5. Wow, that sounds like a crazy few days. Does sound like things worked out though. Those unpaid internships sound a bit crazy busy too.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

