Healthy Cinnamon Apple Oat Pancakes {No Added Sugar}

Cinnamon Apple Oat Pancakes  Dinner of Herbs

Sweet, soft, satisfying, moist, hearty, delicious….healthy?

Yes, indeed.  All of those adjectives describe these pancakes.  They manage to deserve all of those adjectives despite not containing any butter, oil, or added sugar.

Almond milk, applesauce, vanilla extract, and a generous amount of cinnamon ensure that these pancakes are sweet and delicious despite the lack of honey, sugar, or sugar substitute.  The applesauce also lend a wonderful apple flavour that pairs well with the cinnamon and oats.  Oats and whole wheat flour make these pancakes more filling and satisfying.

Step I: Combine dry ingredients.
Step I: Combine dry ingredients.

I did not even need to use syrup on these.  They also hold up well as leftovers, which is very rare for pancakes.  Usually leftover pancakes might as well be thrown away, because they are just limp, soggy blobs about 15 minutes after being taken off of the griddle.  I ate 1 or 2 of these daily for 5 days, and they were just as good on the fifth day as the first night when I had a fresh one.  The same cannot be said for many foods.

Step II: Add wet ingredients.
Step II: Add wet ingredients.
Step III: Stir.
Step III: Stir.

 

The Recipe

Ingredients

2/3 c white whole wheat flour

2/3 c old-fashioned oats

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4 c applesauce

1/2 c nonfat, plain Greek yogurt*

1 tsp vanilla*

1 egg

1/3 c almond milk

Servings: 9.5 pancakes

Heat nonstick griddle to 350oF.  Sift together the flour, oats, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a large bowl.  Add the applesauce, greek yogurt, vanilla, egg, and almond milk and stir until just combined.  Spoon onto the hot griddle and spread out batter to make a larger, thinner pancake.  Allow to cook until pancakes are bubbling to the surface all over the pancake and the edges look slightly dry.  Flip and cook on the other side until golden brown.  Serve and enjoy!

Step IV: Cook.
Step IV: Cook.
Step V: Eat, or pack away for breakfast for the week!
Step V: Eat, or pack away for breakfast for the week!

 

19 thoughts on “Healthy Cinnamon Apple Oat Pancakes {No Added Sugar}

  1. looking very very tasty 🙂 love combine all of these flavors in a pancake. makes them more like dessert! And yes to popcorn and cinnamon. And yes again to cinnamon and pretty much anything! Ice cream for sure. (oops–not healthy 0-: )

    1. Cinnamon is great! I have not appreciated it enough until recently, and now I’ve started putting it in everything! I even tried some snickerdoodle popcorn the other day (not homemade) and liked it! Popcorn and cinnamon? Who knew.

      1. OMG there is a restaurant near me that serves a daily popcorn and one of them is cinnamon, sugar, butter. Needless to say I gobbled that up 😉 I read somewhere that bloggers, especially ones who try to write healthier recipes, use a shocking amount of cinnamon. It is simply great 🙂

    1. Welll…you see, these pictures were taken in my kitchen before I moved to the new place with the yellow kitchen. The only pictures I’ve posted from the yellow kitchen are my peach cupcake photos. But thank you! 🙂

    1. They truly are a a comfort food! White chocolate chip and blueberry pancakes? Mmm…too bad I don’t like white chocolate too much, but I do have to admit that white chocolate and blueberries go exceptionally well together!

  2. I have made pancakes like these before, as well as similar to a bread I have made (a banana based bread). So delish! I am slightly allergic to almonds so I tend to avoid almond milk simply in fear but I am wondering if I would even be allergic to the almond milk/almond flour etc. Not sure it is worth knowing for sure lol.

    1. Yeah, I wouldn’t risk it either. Fortunately, I know for a fact that regular milk works just as well in this recipe! I am pretty sure soy milk or coconut milk would work too. Even water would probably be just fine.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

