Pesto Salmon Artichoke Linguini

Pesto Salmon Artichoke Linguini  Dinner of Herbs

You do not have to be rich to create a delicious, rich meal.

In fact, you do not even have to have a lot of time.  I made this meal in about 20 minutes.  The most difficult part was not eating the ingredients before I added them to the dish.

I am sure that this recipe could be dressed up and made classier, if you wished to take the time to buy and cook a fresh salmon filet, make fresh basil pesto, and prepare fresh artichokes.  However, as a poor, busy college student, I do not have the time or money to do these things yet.  Maybe one day.  A can of pink salmon, a bottle of pesto, and canned artichoke hearts make this recipe very easy (and affordable) to prepare.

DSC05776

The artichokes and fresh tomatoes added at the end helped to balance the rich flavour of the basil pesto and the salmon.  The pesto should be used sparingly in order to not overwhelm the dish.  The whole wheat pasta rounds out the dish, but the fresh tomato really makes this dish pop.  The freshness is a nice contrast to the saltiness of the pesto and salmon.

DSC05774

After making and eating this, I have to wonder:  if this can be made in 20 minutes, why would anyone bother with Hamburger Helper, Rice-a-Roni, or any other similar boxed meal?

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/3 pkg whole wheat linguini

1 1/2 Tbsp basil pesto

1 can artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed

1/2 can pink salmon, drained

2 large roma tomatoes, diced

Servings: 3

Bring a pot of water to a boil and prepare the linguini according to the package directions.  While the pasta is cooking, drain and rinse the artichokes.  Drain the salmon, and separate into bite-sized pieces.  Place the artichokes, pesto, and salmon into a skillet over medium heat and stir.  Allow it to warm through and brown slightly.  Drain the pasta when it is the desired tenderness.  Top the pasta and artichoke-salmon mixture with fresh tomatoes.  Enjoy!

DSC05769

[Note]: You have two options for how you serve this dish.  If you are going for presentation, place the pasta on the plates, and top with the salmon-artichoke mixture, and lastly top with the fresh tomato.  If you are going for more consistent flavour throughout the dish, stir the pasta into the salmon-artichoke mixture, then top with tomatoes once it is on the plates. So, I plated it for presentation, took the pictures for this post….and then stirred it altogether when packing up my leftovers.  🙂

18 thoughts on “Pesto Salmon Artichoke Linguini

  1. Pingback: Best Cooking Blog
  2. Pingback: My Homepage
  3. Yes yes yes to your final question!!! (“yes” not being the answer–just my seconding the importance of the Q. Why indeed–boggles my mind.)

    Don’t bother prepping the fresh artichoke even when you’re raking in the big bucks. (though canned artichoke hearts aren’t cheap either) The fresh are best (my opinion) eaten leaf by leaf, dipped in lemon butter. Way too much work for your dish. Which is gorgeous and yummy btw. Your boyfriend knows how lucky he is, yes?

    1. Thanks for the tip about the fresh artichokes. I’ve never had a fresh one…I will write it on my list of things to try one day.
      I believe my boyfriend thinks he is luckier than he actually is, so that’s good!

  4. I love this! I was actually looking for something similar to this for my husband’s bday tonight. I am a terrible cook…can I use shrimp instead of salmon? I don’t think I have artichoke hearts in the house (and my car is off getting an oil change)…any substitutes or would I kill it if I left them out???

    Thanks for a great idea!

    1. Thanks! Well, I have never had shrimp (and I call myself a food blogger?! I know, I know…) but I bet it would work. If I am right in assuming that it is not as rich as salmon, then it might be an even better ingredient than the salmon, because this recipe is at risk of being too rich. The artichokes not-rich (poor? haha) flavour balance out the richness of the pesto and salmon…but if you’re using shrimp, I guess it might be ok without. I’m not coming up with any substitutions for the artichokes. I will have to think about it, and if I think of something soon I will post it.

      Good luck! I hope my rambling suggestions make some sense and are helpful!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

