Chili White Bean Hummus

Chili White Bean Hummus  Dinner of Herbs

Hummus is fabulous.

However, I like great northern beans better than chickpeas…so it would only make sense that hummus made from great northern beans would be even better than chickpeas!  I am not sure that this white bean hummus was better, but it was definitely just as good.

DSC05708 DSC05712

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am still working on perfecting the amounts of spices to achieve the amount of flavour that I want, so I have not included the amounts.  Besides, as I have said many times before, everyone’s tastes are different, so add as much or little as you want!  It gives you an excuse to taste-test your food repeatedly while preparing it.

 

DSC05726

For the beans, I used dried beans that I had soaked, cooked, frozen, and then thawed.  Those poor beans went through a lot, but they sure turned out nicely.  I used this hummus on wraps, and of course with carrot sticks and other vegetables.

DSC05716
I saved (and washed, of course) Aldi’s hummus container…perfect fit.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c cooked great northern beans

garlic powder

onion powder

1/2 tsp lemon juice

salt*

chili powder

Servings: 6 servings

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.  Put into a storage container and sprinkle with a little more chili powder.  Enjoy!

*Omit salt if you are using canned beans.

hummus outside

21 thoughts on “Chili White Bean Hummus

      1. I usually find tahini in grocery stores where the peanut butter or other nut butters are. It’s really high in calories due to the oil in sesame seeds, come to think of it, sesame oil without the seed paste may be less calories! You have a lovely healthy version, I think it’s wonderful.

  1. Oooh looks great! I think great Northern beans are what we call butter beans here? Either way, I make a butter bean, rosemary and lemon ‘hummous’ that is basically like this and so good!

  2. really pretty, Jenny (I seem to say that a lot here!)–love the light color and slightly pink/peach hue. Why why why would people buy packaged when it’s that simple to make you’re own? (my perpetual rant) Love that you cook up dried beans and freeze!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

