Roasted Eggplant Mushroom Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

Roasted Eggplant Mushroom Salad  Dinner of Herbs

Confession.

I did not pack this salad in my lunch.  That is only because I made it on the weekend since my eggplant was getting old, and the salad was so good that I finished it before Monday rolled around.  Ah, well.  Next time.

DSC05792 DSC05797

The juicy, seasoned eggplant eliminates the need for dressing on this salad, so be generous with the eggplant slices.  I used this recipe to roast my eggplant.  I used garlic powder so that it would be a little easier. I believe I sliced my eggplant a little too thin, so some of it burnt in only 20 minutes.

DSC05800 DSC05808 DSC05812

Tip:  Do not leave the kitchen.  You can smell when the eggplant is ready to come out of the oven.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 Oven-Roasted Eggplant Recipe

salad greens (I used spinach)

tomato, diced

fresh mushrooms, sliced

cucumber, sliced

carrot, julienned

Servings: 3 salads

Prepare the salad greens, tomato, mushroom, cucumber, and carrot while the eggplants are roasting.  Top the salad with the eggplant, and enjoy!

One more look at that delicious eggplant.
One more look at that delicious eggplant.

DSC05817 DSC05818

18 thoughts on “Roasted Eggplant Mushroom Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

  1. I hate that my husband doesn’t like eggplant. I may try roasting them like this next time. Looks good! Also, little note about mushrooms since you said you didn’t usually like them. Portabella mushrooms are less squishy/spongy than white button mushrooms. More expensive but worth it. I love to saute them in butter and either soy sauce or garlic salt and thyme. 🙂

    1. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it – previously I had said I didn’t like mushrooms, and I’d never had eggplant. I was happy to discover that fresh mushrooms are QUITE different than canned mushrooms. 🙂

  2. Love how thinly you sliced your eggplant. I do the same thing with roasting, but my slices are thicker and not always evenly sliced. But nothing beats roasted eggplant for sure. Yay summer! And yay your salad, too 🙂

  3. I made something very similar last week! Didn’t I just say the other day that simple ingredients and recipes are the best? lol. So simple anyone can do this and enjoy a healthy lunch. My biggest problem is the sampling I do while it is cooking.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

