BLT Frittata

BLT Frittata  Dinner of Herbs

The name of this recipe is actually misleading.

This recipe should be called “BST Frittata” because it contains spinach rather than lettuce, but I have a feeling no one would know what to expect from a recipe called “BST Frittata”.

DSC05868

The combination of these ingredients (eggs, bacon, spinach, tomatoes, and a little garlic and onion) is not earth-shattering.  However, this post is more about how to improvise.  How to work with what you have.  How to figure out how to include bacon without adding tons of fat and grease.  How to change your plans from making more egg muffins, when your roommate removes all dishes (including the muffin pan) from the apartment without letting you know first.  Oh, and you also don’t have a skillet to make a proper frittata either.  Ahem.

The Recipe

Ingredients

6 eggs

1/3 c water*

garlic powder

onion powder

3 handfuls fresh spinach, chopped

3 roma tomatoes, diced

3 slices bacon, cooked, drained, and crumbled

Servings: 6 small servings

Heat oven to 350oF.  Whisk eggs, water, garlic, and onion together in a large bowl.  Add the diced tomato and spinach and stir.  Pour into a greased 9″x9″ pan.  Sprinkle bacon pieces on top.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the center is set.  Enjoy!

DSC05869

*I would have used milk or almond milk, but I only had dark chocolate almond milk….I’ve heard of people dipping bacon in chocolate, but I didn’t think this was the time to start experimenting with that.

19 thoughts on “BLT Frittata

  1. When my husband used to do the shopping we called spinach lettuce because that is what we used as our “lettuce”. So, I’m ok with your BST being called a BLT. (Because you needed my approval — ha, ha, ha, ha!) Sounds so delicious!

    1. Oh, I just read the asterisked part. I think chocolate covered bacon is a terrible waste. My friend saw it once and bought it for me because she knew I think it is awful. It was like salty chocolate. I have a post about it. I think that both bacon and chocolate are yummy and there is no need to ruin either by combining them. 🙂

  2. You’ve once again rolled with the culinary punches, Jenny–hooray! Looks good and I got a great chuckle out of the BST–good call on not gong there. We’ve both asked this so many times, BUT: Why would anyone pay hard-earned money to eat a ho-hum egg dish at a chain restaurant when they could make what you made on the cheap and have it taste amazing? Why why why?

    1. Why indeed. I think theses people just have never really tried to cook or bake, and think it’s much harder (and less enjoyable) than it really is. After watching too many restaurant makeover shows (Kitchen Nightmares being one) has made me realize another bonus of making food yourself: you know that the food you made was fresh and not made or stored in unsanitary conditions. Ick.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

