Goat Cheese Pizza on Whole Wheat {Fixing a Former Disaster}

Goat Cheese Pizza on Whole Wheat  Dinner of Herbs

This is a first!

I actually went back and fixed one of my former Disaster posts.  Remember this one?

old sock pizza

Yep, the Old Sock, Tomato, and Spinach pizza.  It was the first time I had tried goat cheese, and I hated it.  It tasted like soap, or like old socks (hence the title).  The crust was also uncooperative and acting very strangely.  I have mentioned before how much I hate to waste food, so the fact that I threw this away speaks volumes.

Well, my boyfriend was dying to try goat cheese, so I gave in.  The fact that I had recently managed to purchase a brand new pizza stone for only $1.06 also encouraged me to try again.

DSC05929

This time the crust cooperated (even though I think my yeast was a feeling a bit lazy and hardly rose at all) and the pizza stone allowed it to make a very crispy, very thin crust.  In fact, the crust was so thin that my boyfriend and I ate this whole pizza in one meal.    The homegrown basil from my parents’ garden made the sauce extra special and extra tasty.  The goat cheese still tasted somewhat of soap to me, but it was not nearly as strong as last time.  I enjoyed the pizza.

DSC05941

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 Whole Wheat Pizza Crust recipe

1 6 oz can of tomato sauce

1 Tbsp tomato paste

8-12 leaves of fresh basil, shredded

garlic salt

onion salt

oregano

2 small tomatoes, diced

1 c fresh spinach, chopped

6 oz goat cheese crumbles

Servings: 2 large servings

Place the pizza stone in the oven, and heat oven to 375oF.   In a bowl, combine the tomato sauce, tomato paste, garlic, onion, oregano, and basil.  Dice the tomatoes and prepare the spinach and set aside.  When the oven is up to temperature, remove the stone and spread the prepared pizza dough on the stone carefully with your hands.  [Don’t burn yourself!]  Spread the tomato sauce on the crust out to the edges, then layer the tomato, spinach, and goat cheese crumbles on top as desired.  Bake in the oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown around the edges and the cheese is just beginning to brown.  Enjoy!

DSC05928

22 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Pizza on Whole Wheat {Fixing a Former Disaster}

  1. All I can say – I love pizza! Serve me and I am happy! Thanks for this wonderful recipe surely going to try this.. 🙂

  2. the pizza stone is back 🙂 Looks gorgeous–and you could switch out the cheeses, no problem. Fresh mozz? Brie? feta? always love a good whole wheat crust recipe, so will try yours as well. Tonight seems a good pizza night.

    1. Yes, I originally intended to use fresh mozzarella, but I switched it out for the goat cheese to please my boyfriend. I hope he enjoyed it!
      Brie on a pizza with tomato sauce? I’ve never tried that. I usually like the flavour of brie too much to put it with anything else other than something simple like bread that will not overwhelm the brie.
      However, feta sounds perfect!
      If you try the pizza crust, let me know how it turns out!

    1. Sorry! haha Well this is a pretty healthy pizza, as far as pizzas go. Very thin crust….whole wheat…no salted meats…minimal cheese…and tomatoes and spinach! That’s what I told myself after I ate nearly half of it in one sitting. Ah, well…

  3. What an amazing deal on the pizza stone! Apparently the “feta” I’ve been eating is made out of cow’s milk, I never would’ve known if your post hadn’t prompt me into looking it up. I recently tried this cheese called Don Juan Manchego which is made from sheep’s milk. I wasn’t a big fan. BellaVitano Espresso is by far my favorite (and my kiddos) favorite cheese.

    1. Yeah, I don’t know a lot about cheese–other than I love it! Most kinds, that is… I’ve never heard of BellaVitano Espresso cheese….is it…coffee-flavoured? haha that sounds really odd.

      1. BellaVitano Espresso is really really good. It’s a white cheese with a little bit of sweetness and crushed up espresso beans makes the rind on the cheese. We find it at the regular grocery store at the gourmet cheese cooler/refrigerator next to the deli area.

    1. Well, it did help with the crust. Even though the crust was super thin, I could actually pick the pieces of pizza up with my hands while it was still hot. Usually I can’t do that unless I am eating it cold straight out of the fridge the next day. And even then, it really only works with thick crusts. If you try TJ Maxx or somewhere similar, you can probably get one for $10-15.

    1. No, I hadn’t seen it, but I am looking at it now!
      Oooo, I want to try roasted butternut squash on a pizza!
      Pizza crust is the perfect way to start working with yeast. If your yeast fails, it doesn’t even matter; you will just have a nice thin crust, which is also desirable! If you get very active yeast, you will have a superb deep dish pizza! (And a longer cooking time, but oh well.) Go ahead and try it! Pizza crust is not nearly as persnickety as other yeast breads.

    1. Well, I don’t know! Right now I am a little behind because life has been so crazy, but food is a priority to me. You have to eat to stay alive, and you have to eat healthily to be healthy. So if it is something you have to take time for anyway, you might as well do it right. That’s my philosophy anyway. 🙂 I don’t always follow my own advice, but I try to.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

