Yellow Tomato-Cucumber Quinoa

Yellow-Tomato-Cucumber Quinoa  Dinner of Herbs

You know why red velvet cupcakes are so popular?

Not because they taste much different than chocolate cupcakes, but because they are different.  And different is interesting.  Remember years ago when they made green and purple ketchup?  [If you don’t remember, you’re rather lucky.  Ketchup is disgusting enough without being such an unnatural colour.]  Everyone knows tri-colour farfalle is more interesting than plain farfalle.

Rainbow quinoa - so pretty.
Rainbow quinoa – so pretty.

Usually, hopefully, “more interesting” = “more delicious”.

That’s the case for both yellow pear tomatoes and rainbow quinoa.  Yellow pear tomatoes really do taste different due to their lower level of acidity.  Rainbow quinoa….well…it sure looks pretty!  But I cannot honestly say that I tasted a difference between it and regular white quinoa.

quinoa from side

The Recipe

Ingredients

3/4 c rainbow quinoa, rinsed

1/2 c cucumber, diced

1/2 c yellow pear tomatoes, diced

fresh basil, chopped

garlic

onion

parsley

dash lemon juice

salt

dry-roasted almonds (optional)

Servings: 2-3

Prepare the quinoa according to package directions.  When the quinoa is finished cooking, stir in the cucumber, pear tomatoes, basil, onion, parsley, lemon juice, and salt.  Enjoy!

quinoa w: yellow tomato

18 thoughts on “Yellow Tomato-Cucumber Quinoa

  1. Yum – I love tricolor quinoa! I don’t notice any difference in taste but I’ve found that the darker/redder ones stay more firm long after the white ones “pop” open. I like that variety in texture. Cheers!

  2. It does indeed look interesting 🙂 And tasty, of course. But don’t be knocking ketchup, haha. (except for the green and purple stuff-that is nasty) Hoping you have some (devil’s food) cupcakes to serve after I eat this healthy salad? 😉

    1. Sorry, mustard wins over ketchup any day! And yes, I had just finished making some chocolate cupcakes and lemon bars to take into work to celebrate my last week before I made this for dinner. So I would have been happy to share! I have to say, icing the cupcakes did not go as I had hoped, but the taste was wonderful.

  3. I eat quinoa all the time, and almost substitute all of my carbs with quinoa. Generally I do add a bit more of a variety of herbs like coriander, mint, parsley and even a bit of dill to enrich the flavour. That way you can skip more of the seasoning like salt and still get a lot of flavours packed in this vegan dish!

  4. I have a bunch of yellow tomatoes, including yellow pear, in my garden this year, none of which I planted or bought myself, just volunteered or came from a brother in law. I do not like to make any of my traditional tomato dishes with yellow tomatoes for this very reason (don’t like the lack of color for chili soup, spaghetti, lasagna, goulash, etc.), but this salad looks pretty and good. Thanks.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

