Mini Banana-Raspberry Loaves {Sugar-Free}

Mini Banana-Raspberry Loaves  Dinner of Herbs

Buttermilk, plain yogurt, whipping cream, sour cream and the like need to come in smaller quantities at the grocery store.

I do not know how many times I have skipped making a recipe because I did not want to have to buy a whole container of whipping cream to use a mere tablespoon, stress for the next week about how I should use the remaining ~1.94 cups of whipping cream, and then throw the rest of it out 8 days later.  I was very happy when I learned the trick about adding lemon juice to regular milk to make buttermilk, but I have yet to find a way to avoid buying those other perishable dairy items.

DSC06050 DSC06053

So when I decided to bake treats to take in to work recently to celebrate my last week before moving on to another rotation internship, I gave in and purchased the smallest vat of light sour cream I could find.  In an attempt to make a dent in the remaining sour cream, I revised my Yogurt Banana Bread recipe to include sour cream.  I also reduced the amounts, used Truvia instead of sugar, and added some raspberries.  I also had to experiment with the cooking time, since I used a mini loaf pan rather than my traditional 9″x9″ pan.

DSC06056 DSC06057

It turned out pretty delicious!  The only sad thing is that the raspberries are so juicy that these mini loaves require refrigeration to prevent premature molding.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 very ripe banana, mashed

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

3/8 c light sour cream

2 packets Truvia

2/3 c white whole wheat flour

1/3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c fresh raspberries

Servings: 4 mini loaves

Heat oven to 325oF.  Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl.  In a medium-sized bowl, combine the mashed banana, vanilla, egg, sour cream, and Truvia and stir well.  Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Gently fold in the raspberries, then spoon evenly into four tins of a mini loaf pan.  Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until lightly golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Mini Banana-Raspberry Loaves {Sugar-Free}

  1. They look lovely. I tend to use buttermilk, natural yogurt, creme fraiche, etc interchangeably depending on what I have in the fridge. I think in most recipes it doesn’t really matter hugely unless you are looking for a specific taste, but I might be wrong!

    1. Yes, I probably should have just used yogurt, but I wanted something with a little higher fat content so that they did not dry out as quickly. I wanted these to be able to stay moist for several days, since I was taking them to work to share with coworkers.

      1. Am with you–I, too, have shed a(n internal) tear or two when I have to throw away cream, yogurt, etc. And don’t even get me started on my half-and-half. That stuff ain’t cheap!

        1. Yes, half and half is the worst! You can’t make a substitute like with buttermilk, and you can’t just eat it like with yogurt or sour cream. (Well, I find other people to eat the sour cream–I am not a fan of the taste of sour cream by itself.)

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

