Tomato and Smoked Provolone Pizza

Tomato and Smoked Provolone Pizza | DInner of Herbs

Have you heard of CSA?

I hadn’t until recently.  I thought the idea was interesting, but I didn’t think it was the right time for me to try it just yet, since I am moving all over the place.  However, I did get one week’s worth of spoils from friends of my roommate’s.  The friends were out of town for the week, and unavailable to pick up their weekly load of locally-grown vegetables.  With many CSA’s you are unable to cancel an order, so they told my roommate to pick up the vegetables and to enjoy them.

So, Saturday morning, I headed to the farmer’s market with my roommate to collect the vegetables.  We got a lot!  Several ears of corn, a few peppers, mini sweet peppers, an onion, an albino eggplant (I don’t know what it is really called, haha), and tomatoes.  Lots of tomatoes.  Regular tomatoes, a yellow tomato, and lots of cherry tomatoes.

DSC06078

Seeing the variety, all I could think about on the way home was a tomato tart.  I mentioned this to my roommate, and we quickly decided to make a tomato pizza for dinner (since we didn’t have a recipe for a tart crust, and I have a new pizza stone that I’m eager to use anyway).

It turned out beautiful and delicious.  The only problem was that the pizza stuck to the pizza stone rather badly.  I am guessing that I did not use enough cornmeal?  Any suggestions?

The Recipe

Ingredients

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust recipe

1 large red tomato, sliced thinly

1 large yellow tomato, sliced thinly

1 large green pepper, sliced thinly

1 8 oz can tomato sauce

1 Tbsp tomato paste

fresh basil, chopped

oregano

garlic powder

onion powder

parsley

4 oz smoked provolone cheese, shredded

1/4 c parmesan cheese, grated

olive oil

Servings: 4 servings

Heat oven to 425oF.  Combine the tomato sauce, tomato paste, and seasonings in a small pot over medium heat.  Slice the tomatoes and green pepper.  Generously sprinkle the pizza stone with cornmeal, then spread the prepared whole wheat crust onto the stone.  Gently rub a little olive oil onto the edges of the pizza crust.  Bake in the oven for approximately 7 minutes.  Remove from oven and flatten any bubbles that have risen in the crust’s center.  Spread the tomato sauce onto the crust and top with the green pepper and tomatoes.  Add the provolone and parmesan cheese.  Place in the oven and bake until the crust is golden brown and the cheese has melted and begun to brown.  Enjoy!

DSC06079

23 thoughts on “Tomato and Smoked Provolone Pizza

  1. Beautiful – this is one of my favorite ways to use my tomato overload late in the season. I use a ton of cornmeal on my stone and, along with a long preheat and regular use, it get’s better and better.

  2. I’ve been a CSA member for 3 years now and while collecting the share weekly has sometimes posed to be inconvenient, I love the variety and surprise of what each week holds. And the direct connection to the farm too. We were in the area of our farm this weekend and called the farmer to see if we could stop by. He ended up spending over two hours walking around and talking to just my husband and I. As for the pizza, I don’t work with a stone, just a pan and find I often forget to brush it with olive oil causing it to stick. Could that be the issue?

    1. You’re not a dolt! At least I hope you’re not, because if you are, then I also was a dolt until very recently! Haha, anyway, CSA stands for “Community Supported Agriculture”. Basically, you pay a certain amount every month and get a portion (or “share”) of the farmer’s produce. If the farmer suffers a rough year, you share in that loss. If the farmer gets a surplus, you share in that bounty. It helps the farmers through rough years and you get a variety of fresh produce.

  3. First, welcome to the CSA club, if even only for a week. You already got to experience the fun of getting spontaneous inspiration from whatever you discover in your share a great challenge.

    With respect to your pizza stone problem, a few things to note: first, the stone will improve over time as it gets seasoned. In the meantime, my own pizza trick is to roll out your dough into parchment paper and place the prepared pizza, including parchment, directly on the preheated stone with a pizza peel. Around halfway through the cooking, the pizza should release from the paper. Pull out the paper and let pizza finish on the stone directly. Voila.

    1. I did enjoy the variety of vegetables and trying to find dishes to make that would use what I was provided with! Maybe in a year or two I will be able to join the CSA club more permanently!
      Thanks for the tips about the pizza stone!

  4. CSAs are a fine way to support local ag–good for you! We did it one year, but the farm had a rough year with broccoli, so we never got any. Which made me think I’m better of buying exactly what I want from the farmers’ markets.

    Your pizza looks so so good. And more cornmeal is all I got for your Q. Baking stones are supposed to behave.

    1. Yes, I think more cornmeal is the way to go. My dad used my pizza stone a few days after I made this, and he used a lot of cornmeal, and didn’t have any problems. I guess I was just being stingy with the cornmeal.

  5. You mentioned this is a new baking stone? It probably just needs some seasoning (just like cast iron). Rub some olive oil into it when cool, then place in a 200 degree oven and let it “bake” for 30 minutes. Turn off the oven and let cool completely. It also wouldn’t hurt to bake a few buttery recipes while it’s still young! And never use soap to clean it!
    Hope this helps — and nothing beats a fresh tomato pizza!

  6. The pizza stone was preheated correct? In most cases if your dough isn’t sticky and your stone is preheated, it shouldn’t stick too bad. Occasionally it does for us though.

    1. Yes, it was preheated. A few days after I made this, I brought it home with me when I visited, and my dad used it to make pizza. He added a TON of cornmeal, and it didn’t stick nearly as much. I guess I just need to be more liberal with my cornmeal.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

