Cheesy Avocado Potato Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

Cheesy Avocado Potato Salad  Dinner of Herbs

This recipe is the result of pure genius and inspirational taste.

Actually, no.  I just had a lot of potatoes to use up and some leftover avocado and Romano cheese.  And guess what!  They taste pretty good together.

I made this for dinner one night and packed some of the leftovers for my lunch the next day.  I was pleased with how well it warmed up and was still flavourful the next day.  The lime juice prevented the avocado from turning to brown or grey.  The melty Romano cheese was definitely the highlight of this simple dish.

DSC06074

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 cups potato, diced

1/2 avocado

1 1/2 tsp lime juice

garlic powder

cilantro

salt

Romano cheese, shredded

Servings: 2-3 servings

Place the diced potatoes in a small pot and cover with water.  Bring to a boil and boil until the potatoes are fork-tender.  Drain the potatoes.  In another bowl, mash the avocado and stir in the lime juice, garlic, cilantro, and salt.  Stir the potatoes into the avocado mixture.  Top with romano cheese and serve immediately.  Or pack for lunch for the next day.  Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Cheesy Avocado Potato Salad {Packed Lunch Edition}

    1. Mozzarella would be ok on it. Since mozzarella is so mild, the dish overall would be a bit more bland, but still acceptable. I suggest sticking with Romano, but if you only have mozzarella, go ahead and try it! Good luck! 🙂

      1. I am sure he will like it.

        Ha, ha, ha! Well, actually, my hubby will eat pretty much anything. He is really easy to cook for. Except sometimes I cook without meat and when I do that “too many” days in a row, then he will mention it. Since he likes almost everything. . . yeah, there are times we don’t agree. But since he likes everything he will eat whatever I eat. It is me that won’t eat whatever he eats. Often when cooking I will cook a little differently for him. Maybe even if that means just adding pepper to his plated food. Or blue cheese to his salad. 🙂 That is why I like recipes like this because I would NEVER think to add avocado because I don’t like ’em. So thank you!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

