Chocolate Avocado Mousse?

Chocolate Avocado Mousse

Confession:  I’ve been eating a lot of unhealthy desserts lately.

I manage to eat a healthy breakfast and a fairly healthy lunch….then I come home from work and eat all the sugar and chocolate in the house.

Add the cocoa powder to the avocado puree.
Add the cocoa powder to the avocado puree.
If it looks like baby poo, like this, then you need more cocoa powder.  Do you like my technical terminology?
If it looks like baby poo, like this, then you need more cocoa powder. Do you like my technical terminology?

So, to try and correct this bad habit I’ve fallen back into, I decided I needed to make a healthy dessert that would stop my cravings and not be as unhealthy as eating half a bag of chocolate chips.  (Ok, ok, I’ve managed to restrain myself a bit more than that…but not by much.)

DSC06172

I’ve seen several varieties of avocado chocolate mousse, and being ever-curious about healthy alternatives, I had to try it.  I loosely followed this recipe.  I just combined avocado, cocoa powder, and honey until it tasted chocolatey and sweet enough to pass as a dessert.  For presentation purposes only, I dusted it with powdered sugar before serving it.

DSC06155

Looking back now, I just realized that I didn’t add any vanilla.  Oops.  I bet that would have made it taste even better.  Or what about some almond extract?  Mmm…

DSC06164

Anyway, it turned out satisfactorily.  The flavour grew better and better and more and more convincing with each bite. It cannot replace chocolate fudge cake or chocolate ice cream, but it a pleasant way to eat a healthier dessert.

last

24 thoughts on “Chocolate Avocado Mousse?

  1. Great minds must think alike! I posted this recipe last month too, with the almond extract. I also used 1/4 cup of almond milk, and on my 2nd go at it, added an additional 2 tbsp of coconut milk. Link: http://wp.me/p3Otk2-iF
    I think it gives it a slightly lighter, bit more rounded taste. I agree the first bite is unusual, but then you look down, and it’s gone!

      1. I tried it! I actually forgot the vanilla! 😉 But it tasted amazing nevertheless! I made a mini portion just for my craving, 1/2 avocado, 1 tbsp cocoa, 3 tbsp coconut milk & 1/2 tbsp agave! 😉 delicious!! thanks for sharing this great recipe!

  2. have made this before, too 🙂 I couldn’t find it in food for fun archives, so I must have put it up on deLizious. Don’t remember where I found the recipe, so am glad to have yours! Will remember vanilla. Fun to slip avocado into desserts 😉

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

