Cream Cheese Walnut Apple Oat Bread {No Added Sugar}

Cream Cheese Walnut Apple Oat Bread  Dinner of Herbs

All is right in the world again.

I finally feel well enough to have a proper workout, I had a three day weekend, I was able to enjoy a hike, and I FINALLY GOT TO BAKE.

Dry Ingredients

With the weather turning a bit crisper, I decided that I wanted apples.  So here is a recipe centered around apples.  Adding bits of apple (peel included!) was not enough for me.  I decided that I needed to use applesauce too.  If there were such a thing as apple flour, I would have used that too.

You know what?  Forget the bread.  Just eat these.  SO GOOD.
You know what? Forget the bread. Just eat these. SO GOOD.

batter

To create this recipe, I adjusted my Healthy Cinnamon Apple Oat Pancake recipe so that it was not as runny.  I also added some apple pieces that were tossed in lemon juice and cinnamon.  You can’t have too much cinnamon, right?  Next, I decided to play with a little cream cheese danish twist.  As I was throwing this together I decided that walnuts were the perfect addition to these loaves.  I added the walnuts on top of the loaves part way through the cook time.  I wanted them on top so that they would be slightly toasted to bring out that lovely walnut flavour; however, I waited until the loaves were about halfway done so that the walnuts would not burn.

Cream cheese filling.
Cream cheese filling.

The result?  A lightly sweet bread that contains nice, large pieces of baked apple and crunchy, toasted walnuts on top.  Mmm.  Fall.

Beautiful!   ....~cough, cough~
Beautiful! ….~cough, cough~

My only regret is how yellow the cream cheese portion turned out.  If you can use half an egg in the cream cheese portion, that would be great…

DSC06229

Oops.  Haha, left a little apple behind...
Oops. Haha, left a little apple behind…

The Recipe

Ingredients

2/3 c old-fashioned oats

1 1/3 c white whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4 c applesauce

1/2 c non-fat, vanilla Greek yogurt

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 c almond milk

Apples

2 medium gala apples, diced

lemon juice

cinnamon

Cream Cheese

4 oz 1/3 less-fat neufchatel cheese, softened

1 medium egg

6 packets Stevia (or 1/4 c sugar)

walnuts* (optional)

Servings: 8 mini loaves

Heat oven to 325oF.  Sift together the flour, oats, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Add the applesauce, greek yogurt, vanilla, eggs, and almond milk.  Stir until just combined.  Dice the unpeeled apples and toss with a dash of lemon juice and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Fold in the apple pieces.  In a small bowl, combine the cream cheese, egg, and Stevia/sugar.  Stir until well combined.  Spoon the bread batter into a greased mini loaf pan and spread so that it fills the loaf tins evenly.  Spoon a little cream cheese mixture over each mini loaf.  Bake for about 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and add chopped walnuts to the top.  Gently press into the cream cheese mixture.  Bake for another 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the loaves comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

See that big piece of apple.  Oh, yes.
See that big piece of apple. Oh, yes.

final

23 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Walnut Apple Oat Bread {No Added Sugar}

  1. Mmmm..this looks so warm and familiar =} have you ever read the Redwall series of novels? I’ve always yearned for the homey food mentioned in their stories and it seems like I’ve found the recipes on ur website! 🙂

    1. Yes! I read those as a child with my brother! We always said that those books made us want to eat an apple, with a crust of bread, and a large slab of cheese. Mmmm……
      That really is a compliment!

    1. Thanks! It started as a simple apple bread…then I added the oats…then I decided cream cheese was a good idea….then at the last minute I thought walnuts would also fit in perfectly. That is the real reason I waited halfway through the baking time to add the nuts, haha. I didn’t think of it until then!

  2. Sorry to use this descriptor again, but CUTE! Those are sweet little loaves in more ways than one 🙂 So glad you had some time to do the things you enjoy most.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

