Birthday

Apple orchard!
Who goes to an apple orchard and eats an apple without paying for it?!  Tsk, tsk.

I think I am at the age where birthdays are not something to look forward to anymore, but they are not something to dread yet.

In other words, I am at the perfect age?  I must be, since I got to celebrate over four different days.

Two days before my birthday, my roommates prepared a wonderful dinner for me.  Sorry, no pictures.  I was more interested in eating the baked ziti, garlic bread, and salad than taking pictures of it.

The day before my birthday, I got to skype with my brother, who is currently in Japan.  Due to time zones, it was actually already my birthday in Japan.  Or was I actually born a day later in Japan?  Whatever.  I made him tell me happy birthday in Japanese.  For all I know, he could have said anything, but I guess I will trust him.  He told me that he will give me my birthday present from Japan at Christmastime when he is home again.  ….I am not sure whether he is too cheap to spend money on postage or if he forgot to get me something in time…or both!  😉

The day of my actual birthday, I went to Shades State Park with my parents and aunt.  We walked trails and grilled bratwursts and hamburgers for lunch.  The weather was lovely, however, I am scratching several mysterious bug bites (or possibly poison ivy?!) as I type this.  Oh well.  For dinner, we came back to my house for a quick light meal before ending the day at a frozen yogurt place called Pink Walrus.

Oops.  All gone already.
Oops. All gone already.

Ok.  I am a loyal Red Mango fan, but….Pink Walrus was wonderful.  The flavour selection was great, and the toppings included plenty of healthy fruits and some more indulgent chocolatey ones.  I tried the Angel Food Cake flavour and the Milk Chocolate with lots of fruit and pecans on top.  Sooooo good.

peach butter

The day after my birthday, my boyfriend came to town.  We went to an orchard and picked just a few apples for the novelty of it, and also bought some peach butter.  Sweet potatoes and peach butter are probably my favourite fall foods.  In the evening, we enjoyed the nice weather and walked around quiet downtown.  It was a nice, peaceful day.

My dedicated apple-picker.
My dedicated apple-picker.
Beautiful colour.
Beautiful colour.

apple tree

The coming year is going to be a busy year–I finally graduate!–but I am looking forward to it.

27 thoughts on “Birthday

  1. Happy Birthday. Not sure when it was . . . but it sounds as if it was a happy one. My birthday is in September too! Yay! I always look forward to birthdays. I think it is a time to celebrate. I like it when the celebration is for more than one day! I like a birthday MONTH! 🙂 AT LEAST a birthday WEEK! 🙂

    Oh, and . . . I am going with . . . the gift from your brother is so FABULOUS that he can’t risk shipping it! 🙂 (Yup! That’s my story!)

  2. What a lovely four days you had 🙂 All well-deserved. Happy birthday to you! And spoken from the other side of 40 (!), I can honestly say that every year can be the perfect age.

    1. Thank you! I am very glad that we’ve met through this blog–I wonder who I will meet in the coming year?
      Oh, I plan on not dreading my birthday for many years still–if ever! It was a bit rough a few years ago realizing that I was no longer a child…but I have fully accepted that now, and am rather glad of the fact. 🙂 I am pretty happy where I am.

    1. Thank you! Frozen yogurt places are wonderful. I love the taste, I love that it is less unhealthy than ice cream, and I love that I can control the portion size exactly how I want, I love that I can try all the flavours at once if I really want to….
      Yeah, I guess I can’t really complain that I was the only person carded a few weeks ago when I went out to eat lunch with co-workers at a bar.

  3. Oh, Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a lovely celebration. I LOVE when my birthday comes around. My girls get so excited and spoil me with LOVE! As for the age thing, seeing as I am “forever 39”, it doesn’t bother me. I have to confess… we go apple picking every autumn and eat loads of apples as we go along! Oops! 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

