Roasted Pepper and Flounder Tacos with Cilantro Chili-Lime Sauce

Roasted Pepper and Flounder Tacos  Dinner of Herbs

Do you remember me talking about how I tried mini sweet peppers for the first time recently?

Well, I really have fallen in love with them.  I had to go buy a bag of them at the grocery this past weekend.  I wanted to see what I could do with them, other than eat them raw on salads.

frying

Well, I had also recently bought some frozen flounder fillets, so I decided fish tacos was the way to go.  The crisp sweetness of the peppers paired lovely with the faint heat of the chili powder and the red pepper flakes.  I don’t think I even need to explain the lime and cilantro.

plate

Cilantro Chili-Lime Sauce.
Cilantro Chili-Lime Sauce.

The only thing missing is maybe a little avocado…  Now that I think about it, you are really getting two for one in the recipe department today!  Lucky you.  🙂

The Recipe

Ingredients

4 corn tortillas

lettuce

2 flounder fillets

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

chili powder

paprika

1 c red, yellow, and orange mini sweet peppers, sliced thinly

olive oil

lime juice

Cilantro Chili-Lime Sauce

2 Tbsp light sour cream

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp lime juice

1/2 tsp cilantro

1/4 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

Servings: 2 (4 tacos, 2 tacos = 1 serving)

Heat olive oil in a cast-iron skillet (or other skillet) over medium heat.  Once the skillet is up to temperature, add the sliced peppers and the fish.  Immediately sprinkle spices onto the fish.  Cover the skillet with a lid for a minute to trap the liquid and soften the peppers slightly.  Remove the lid.  Occasionally stir the peppers and flip the fish to cook on both sides.  When the peppers are  browned and the fish is cooked through, sprinkle with a dash of lime juice and set aside.  In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, lime juice, and seasonings.  Spread the cilantro chili-lime sauce over half of the corn tortilla, add the lettuce, and top with the flounder and peppers.  Enjoy!

final

14 thoughts on “Roasted Pepper and Flounder Tacos with Cilantro Chili-Lime Sauce

  1. these look amazing. might have to try these with a different kind of fish and see how they turn out.

    love that cilantro lime sauce. although, my intense love of sour cream might cause me to forgo the tacos and just eat it with a spoon.

    1. Thanks! Yeah, to tell the truth, by putting the flounder in the tacos, I could not tell the difference in the flounder from tilapia. Oh well. Both are good, if very mild. And go ahead and grab a spoon…the sauce is pretty good. 🙂

  2. oooo–like this! Fish tacos are usually restaurant fare for me, but why not DIY? FYI, will be beating that drum (the DIY one) in my next post. Woohoo 🙂 And seconding your love for the mini peppers. Sweet and yummy. Also fun to halve, seed, and fill with a goat cheese (or whatever kind of soft cheese) mixture.

    1. Am I going to have to change the name of this blog to “DIY Dinner of Herbs” or something? Because I think my focus is not just on “healthy” and “simple” recipes…but also “HOMEMADE”. Oh, and “delicious”, of course! 🙂
      I am still not thrilled with goat cheese…but I bet cream cheese would also work well.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

