Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Salad

Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Salad  Dinner of Herbs

What makes a great salad?

No, really, I am asking you.  In your opinion, what makes a great salad?

For me, I need a mixture of crisp, crunchy, cool, warm, salty, savory, creamy…maybe more.  Oh.  A variety of colours is also good.  This salad has the salty warm savoriness from bacon-wrapped chicken and crisp and crunchy sweet peppers.  A dash of creamy ranch dressing pulls everything together.  And the colours are here, oh yes they are.

turkey bacon chicken salad

Alright.  I have a confession.  Now, I am prepared for the disgusted and outraged onslaught of people decrying my sacrilegious desecration of the incomparable food known as bacon.

I didn’t use real bacon.  I used….turkey bacon.

turkey bacon

I know, I know!  But it is so much healthier!  And honestly, so much easier to work with when wrapping the chicken.  I think the flavour is good.  Sure, it will never be real bacon, but it is close enough that I am satisfied.  However, I will understand if you substitute in real bacon for this recipe.

The Recipe

Ingredients

6 c green leaf lettuce, chopped

2 carrots, cut into matchsticks

3 mini sweet red peppers

3 mini sweet yellow peppers

3 chicken tenderloins, raw

3 strips turkey bacon, raw

3 Tbsp ranch dressing (optional)

Servings: 3 salads

Heat oven to 350oF.  Brown both sides of the chicken in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Transfer to a glass baking dish.  Wrap each piece of chicken with a single slice of bacon.  Lay the chicken in the glass baking dish so that both ends of the bacon are underneath the chicken.  Bake for approximately 20-30 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through and the bacon on top is beginning to become crispy.  Arrange lettuce, carrot, and peppers in a bowl.  Slice the bacon-wrapped chicken and place on top of the vegetables.  Top with a little dressing if desired.  Enjoy!

eat chicken bacon salad

7 thoughts on “Bacon-Wrapped Chicken Salad

  1. cool–fun idea. And I see that you have your mini peppers again 🙂 What makes a great salad on my end? I love Cobbs most of all (real bacon for sure) and I especially love salads when someone else makes it 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

