Tomato-Basil Chicken and Whole Wheat Gnocchi

Tomato-Basil Chicken and Whole Wheat Gnocchi  Dinner of Herbs

Most of this meal was grown in my parents’ garden.

chicken and green pepper

Crisp that gnocchi!
Crisp that gnocchi!

After spending fall break with my family, I was sent back armed with homegrown tomatoes, basil, and green peppers.  I decided gnocchi would be a good change from the expected pasta.  Sure, it is not a huge difference, but it is amazing how tiny changes can make a big difference.

DSC06320

I only added a little bit of tomato paste because I did not want a lot of tomato sauce to overwhelm the gnocchi and green pepper, and I knew that a lot of sauce would ruin the crispiness of the gnocchi.  I did the tomato and green pepper separately because I wanted the green pepper to be pleasantly soft, but I did not want the tomatoes to cook down to mush.  The green peppers did very well being cooked with the chicken.

Without further ado:

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 package whole wheat gnocchi

olive oil

4 boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins

1 green pepper, diced

2 tomatoes, diced

1/4 c fresh basil, chopped

2 Tbsp tomato paste

garlic

salt

Servings: 4

In a nonstick pan over medium heat, lightly brown the gnocchi.  Add a little olive oil if desired.  In another skillet or cast iron skillet, cook the chicken over medium heat.  Once the chicken has been browned on both sides, add the diced green pepper and a little olive oil.  Cook until the chicken is cooked through, and the pepper has softened.  Once the gnocchi is browned on all sides, add the tomato paste and seasonings to the gnocchi.  Stir to combine.  Add the tomato and basil and gently stir and remove from heat.  Combine the gnocchi mixture and the green pepper mixture.  Serve and enjoy!

DSC06327

11 thoughts on “Tomato-Basil Chicken and Whole Wheat Gnocchi

    1. Yeah, I plan on spending the next few years in an apartment of sorts, so I won’t be able to grow home-grown food very easily. 😦 I am determined to at least attempt growing herbs in my kitchen!

  1. This looks like the perfect dinner to make on a week-night. Well done. (Thank you for mentioning to crisp the gnocchi.)

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

