Baked Rosemary Buttermilk Chicken

DSC06348

My grandma used to make this for my family fairly often.

What is more delicious or comforting than warm, juicy chicken, coated in flavourful rosemary and bread crumbs?

Hey look, a pharmacist using a mortar and pestle!
Hey look, a pharmacist using a mortar and pestle!

I loved the original recipe, but I did take a few liberties with it.  I lightened it up just a bit by exchanging butter for olive oil (and reducing the amount by using my amazing oil mister!) and using whole wheat flour and bread crumbs.  I also lightened up the buttermilk by ‘making’ buttermilk from 1% milk and lemon juice.

DSC06341

It tastes like home.

The Recipe

Ingredients

olive oil

2/3 c whole wheat bread crumbs (or cracker crumbs)

2/3 c white whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp rosemary

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 c 1% milk

2 tsp lemon juice

2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved

Servings: 6 servings

Heat oven to 425oF.  Spray a 13″x9″ pan with olive oil.  In one bowl, combine bread crumbs, flour, salt, rosemary, and pepper.  In another bowl, combine the milk and lemon juice.  Cut the chicken breasts in half if desired.  Dip the chicken in the buttermilk, then coat with bread crumbs.  Place into baking dish.  Spray the tops of the chicken pieces with olive oil.  Bake for 35 minutes, or until the chicken has cooked through.  Enjoy!

full meal
Broccoli, edamame, and whole wheat cornbread makes it a complete meal!

10 thoughts on “Baked Rosemary Buttermilk Chicken

    1. Oh, it was goooood. 😛 But seriously, sorry to make you jealous. I just can’t help it. 😉
      And the lovely table stuff is all my roommates’ stuff, haha. I’m moving home for my next few internships, so the picture props might not be as pretty. On the bright side, I will probably have more natural light at home. No pun intended.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

