Roasted Butternut Squash

Roasted Butternut Squash  Dinner of Herbs

Before you rush ahead and make a fancy dish with multiple ingredients…

You need to have a good foundation.  Today, the foundation is roasted butternut squash.  I have two plans for the squash, which is excellent, because have you SEEN the size of butternut squashi?

squash first

Butternut squash is so vibrant and comforting, I don’t know why I don’t eat it more often!  I will definitely be eating it more often from now on.  Especially when it is so simple to make.  I cannot wait to share my other recipes using this simple roasted butternut squash.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, peeled and diced

olive oil

garlic

sage

thyme

Servings: 6

Heat oven to 400oF.  Peel and halve the squash.  Remove the seeds, then dice the squash into cubes.  Toss with olive oil and seasonings and spread evenly over a large baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Stir, then return to oven for another 20 minutes, or until the squash is tender on the inside, and lightly browned on the outer edges.  Enjoy!

squash 1

16 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash

  1. Butternut Squash is my favorite! Sometimes I cut up a big one, roast only part of it and save the chunks for another meal depending upon the flavors I am looking for – sometimes I go sweet and sometimes I go savory. Delicious!

    1. Yeah, I thought about only roasting half of it, and changing the flavours for the other half…in the end I decided to use the whole squash and buy ANOTHER squash to experiment with different seasonings. Hehe. I have yet to try a sweet flavour though.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

