Dark Chocolate, Toasted Coconut, and Walnut-Almond Biscotti {No Added Sugar}

Biscotti  Dinner of Herbs

I am not a coffee-drinker.

It is a conscious choice, not a natural coincidence.  I am protecting myself from a [delicious?] consuming expensive and potentially unhealthy addiction.

Meh, forget the rest.  I could just eat this.
Meh, forget the rest. I could just eat this.
Ok, fine, I will make the biscotti as planned.
Ok, fine, I will make the biscotti as planned.

 

Ok, don’t worry, I do not think coffee-drinkers are bad people, or people who make bad decisions.  I just believe that I could easily become addicted, and I would not be one of those people who would go for black coffee.  I would be hooked on just a dash of coffee added to my mug of chocolate, cream, and sugar.  Now, THAT, my friends, is not healthy.  And do you know how much Starbucks costs?!  More than I have to spend.

Pre-toasting.
Pre-toasting.
Toasty.
Toasty.

But for those of you who can stomach black coffee…I may never understand you, but I fear and admire you.  In spite of my fear, I have created a recipe that is perfect for you.  A lightly sweet nutty biscotti, with a pleasant crunch, toasted coconut, earthy walnuts, and dots of sweet dark chocolate.

1 2

I honestly don’t know how I managed to not eat the whole thing before they were done being baked.  Each time I took them out of the oven to cut them or turn them over, the aroma enticed me to eat it.  EAT IT NOW.

You’re lucky you got pictures.  🙂

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 egg

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp honey

1 c almond meal

1/3 c coconut

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 c walnuts, chopped

1/4 c dark chocolate chips

Servings: 8-10 biscotti

Heat oven to 325oF.  Combine almond meal, coconut, and baking powder in a medium bowl.  Stir.  Fold in walnuts and chocolate chips.  Add the egg, vanilla, and honey and stir until well combined.  Form into an approximately 2.5’x10″ loaf on a greased baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes, then carefully slice with a sharp knife into 1-inch thick slices.  Turn the slices onto their sides and bake for 15 more minutes.  Gently turn the pieces over and bake for another 5-10 minutes, or until well-browned on all sides.  Allow to cool fully on a wire rack.  Serve with hot tea or coffee.  Enjoy!

3 4

12 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate, Toasted Coconut, and Walnut-Almond Biscotti {No Added Sugar}

  1. These look amazing! I would dunk them in coffee–black, doctored, whatever–anytime. Where did you find the recipe? Really like that these have almond meal.

    1. I saw a similar recipe that used no eggs. Instead, they used ground chia seeds and applesauce. I have no problem with eating eggs and my roommate had a bunch of eggs from her parents’ farm, so I thought it would be best to go that route instead. 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

