Cinnamon-Swirl Banana Loaf

Cinnamon-Swirl Banana Loaf  Dinner of Herbs

Can I post the recipe I WANTED to make?

I wanted the swirl to be a combination of cream cheese (or rather, neufchatel cheese) and cinnamon.  However, when I opened the leftover cream cheese from about two or three weeks ago…the mold growing on it was so vibrant and thriving that I was concerned that it might beat me up if I looked at it the wrong way, let alone tried to eat it.  So, I carefully wrapped it back up and threw it away as quickly as possible.

loaf

Really, truly, please try this with a swirl of 4oz neufchatel cheese and 1 tsp cinnamon, and let me know how it goes.  I think it would be a lot more interesting than this bread.  But you see, I had bananas I needed to use up, coworkers to bribe–I mean, feed–and my camera was already to go.  And hey.  It’s not like this tasted bad!

The other sad thing about this post is that I had trouble with taking pictures.  It was a gloomy, dreary day…except for about 2 minutes.  As soon as I saw the sun peek through the clouds, I raced back to the kitchen and brought out the banana bread loaf for a few more pictures in natural light.  That is why there are only two fairly nice pictures, and the rest are sad and yellow-y from indoor lighting.

The cinnamon layer before adding the rest of the batter.
The cinnamon layer before adding the rest of the batter.

So here you go.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/3 c sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 c nonfat, plain greek yogurt

1 Tbsp almond milk, unsweetened

1 1/2 very ripe banana, mashed

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 c flour

cinnamon

Servings:

Heat oven to 350oF.  Combine banana, egg, vanilla, yogurt, and almond milk in a bowl.  Add the salt, baking soda, and flour and stir until combined.  Pour half of the batter into a loaf pan.  Generously sprinkle cinnamon over top of the batter.  Add the remaining batter on top of the cinnamon.  Bake for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the batter comes out cleanly and the edges are golden-brown.  Enjoy!

DSC06425

12 thoughts on “Cinnamon-Swirl Banana Loaf

  1. Great combination of flavors! When you say it wasn’t interesting, are you talking flavor, texture, or both? Would the cream cheese have replaced the yogurt or been in addition to?

    No apologies needed for the photos–they look great 🙂

    Not sure if you were around for this deLiz facebook post, but I made Ada’s Avocado Banana Bread. Loved it–so novel. http://wp.me/p3uwAA-kn

  2. Never underestimate the usefulness of a piece of molded cheese. I remember many times my mother would just scrape it off until coming to the good stuff. It is a little difficult for me to get past that process but…long ago very little was thrown out!!!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

