[Accidentally] Toasted Pumpkin Bread

Toasted Pumpkin Bread  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

I should have known that things would not go as planned when I found the pumpkin puree had separated, and the solid portion had the intriguing texture of a sponge.

Maybe canned pumpkin puree should not be frozen?

11

Anyway, I thought the bread was ready after 45 minutes of baking, since the toothpick came out fairly cleanly.  However, after I let it cool for 15 minutes or so, I decided to cut off a piece to sample.

The knife came out as if I had dipped it in a bowl full of raw batter.

1

Back into the pan, and back into the oven the pumpkin loaf went!  The only problem was that I had already sliced off one end of the loaf.  Not knowing what else to do, I just laid it on top of the loaf before I put it back in the oven.

2

It came out a wonderful, toasted masterpiece.  I think I will toast the rest of the loaf—and you should too.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c pumpkin puree

2 eggs

2 Tbsp non-fat, plain greek yogurt

1/3 c canola oil

1/3 c sugar

2 Tbsp honey

3/8 c 1% milk

1 1/2 c flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash salt

dash nutmeg

Servings: 12 servings

Heat oven to 350oF.  Sift together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg.  Add the pumpkin puree, eggs, yogurt, oil, sugar, honey, and milk and stir to combine.  Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for 55-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!  *For the toasted version, remove after 50 minutes of baking.  Slice the loaf into approximately 10-12 pieces and arrange on a wire rack.  Bake for another 5-7 minutes, or until toasted as desired.  Enjoy!

3

19 thoughts on “[Accidentally] Toasted Pumpkin Bread

  1. Oh isn’t it fun when baking doesn’t go as planned? I cannot count how many times I have thrown out cookies or muffins that didn’t come out how I wanted. Pumpkin bread is so good!

  2. teehee–cooking and baking are always an adventure. As far as I know, leftover pumpkin puree can be frozen. ?? Sounds like it ended well just the same. Yum!

    1. Well, evidently not in my freezer! It truly was the most revolting orange, squelchy mess you’ve ever seen. Luckily you’re right–it didn’t ruin the end product! I love it smothered in peach butter… But then again, I love smearing peach butter on everything.

  3. that looks so good! I love moister food and that does look like one! specially made with Pumpkin it must be very good! I am trying to pick from wordpress bloggers the recipes to be on my xmas table this year and this is one definitely a strong possibility! 🙂

    1. Haha, this one was a little TOO moist at first! But it came out nicely in the end. If you try it, let me know how it goes! If you’re a fan of nuts, I would definitely add some chopped walnuts or pecans too!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

