Cucumber Slaw II

Cucumber Slaw II  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

So last time I posted my plans for improving a cucumber slaw recipe.

It only took me about an hour after posting to start on a new recipe.  The funny part?  I didn’t follow all of my own suggestions.  Instead of adding red cabbage, I added mini sweet peppers.  I did not have any red cabbage on hand, but I had a few mini sweet peppers left over from this recipe.

Lovely mini sweet peppers.
Lovely mini sweet peppers.

Oh, it was good.  The slight sweetness of the mini sweet peppers helped tame the tangy-ness of the rice vinegar, while adding a delicious crunch.  This cucumber slaw was perfect on the Korean beef tacos, but I imagine it could also be good (in small amounts) as a side on its own.

1

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 medium cucumber, sliced thinly

4 mini sweet peppers, sliced thinly

1/4 c edamame, cooked and shelled

2 tsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Servings: 2-3

Partially peel the cucumber, and slice it thinly.  Salt the cucumber and allow it to drain for half an hour.  Pat the cucumber dry with a paper towel, then add to a medium bowl.  Add the shelled edamame, mini sweet peppers, rice vinegar, and red pepper flakes.  Stir to combine, and enjoy!

DSC06576

3 thoughts on “Cucumber Slaw II

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

