Tart Brussel Sprouts with Cranberries and Pecan

Tart Brussel Sprouts with Cranberries and Pecans  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

To take a break from all of the Japanese recipes that I have been sharing lately, I will share this recipe that I slightly modified.

Frozen cranberries.
Frozen cranberries.

In the midst of all the holiday indulging, I saw this recipe, and knew that I had to make it.

crans2

Unfortunately I did not make any ingenious changes…I just made it simpler, and made it work with what I had on hand.  First, I only had frozen brussel sprouts, not fresh ones.  Second, I had frozen, whole cranberries, not dried cranberries.  In order to make up for the excess water included in these frozen items, I added orange juice concentrate rather than watered-down orange juice.  It worked!

brusselcrans brusselsliced

The pecans are an absolute must in this recipe.  Without them, this recipe would be overwhelmingly tart.  In fact, if in doubt, add more pecans.

pan1

I also believe I like the fresh cranberries better than if they had been dried cranberries.  Dried cranberries seem like they might be a little chewy, and I enjoyed the soft, slightly juicy texture they had in this dish.

pan2

So dig in, and forget about all the holiday cookies going stale.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 lb bag frozen brussel sprouts, thawed

1/3 c frozen cranberries, thawed

2 Tbsp orange juice concentrate

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash of salt

1 1/2 tsp olive oil

1/3 c pecans, chopped

Servings: 5

Slice the brussel sprouts into thin pieces.  Place the frozen cranberries in a small bowl and microwave on low for one minute.  Warm the olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat.  Add the brussel sprouts, cranberries, cinnamon, salt, and orange concentrate to the skillet and stir.  Fry the sprouts until they begin to brown and the cranberries have all burst open.  Remove from heat and stir in the pecans.  Serve and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Tart Brussel Sprouts with Cranberries and Pecan

  1. Looks delicious. I love fresh cranberries over dried cranberries (both are yummy of course) so I like the changes you’ve made! Unfortunately it’s very difficult to come by frozen cranberries here 😦

  2. so very pretty! Love how the flavors must bounce off each other. This one would take the gold medal 😀

    And lol, I crumbled up my stale Christmas cookies and stirred them into rice krispy bars. Hoping that doesn’t make me a bad person…

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

