Official Engagement, Unofficial Ring

us

We are now officially engaged!

We were waiting until the boyfriend (now fiance–it’s going to take me awhile to get used to saying/writing that!) got a job to get engaged.  Well guess what.  He got a job about 3 weeks ago, and he just started this past Thursday!  The day before he started work, he made a special early-morning trip to see me before I headed in to my current internship.

The only issue left is that we are both rather poor at the moment.  Moving costs, rent, deposit fees on a new apartment, school loans and everything else meant that if we wanted to get a “typical” engagement ring, have a “typical” wedding, and go on a “typical” honeymoon….we would be waiting another year and a half before we got married.  After 5+ years, neither of us wanted that.  I came up with a solution.

Although “traditional” engagement rings can be beautiful, they can also be a bit boring.  All silver and a plain, clear diamond.  True it is shiny and beautiful in its own way, but I gravitate towards more colourful and interesting jewelry.  I especially like vintage and vintage-inspired jewelry.  Despite liking more non-traditional jewelry, I do want my engagement ring to be easily recognized for what it is, and not just because of its placement on my hand.

Combining our mutual poorness and my interest in unique jewelry, I suggested that he buy me an inexpensive, interesting, vintage-style ring.  (He agreed, on the caveat that he is able to buy me a more “typical” engagement ring later when he is less poor.)  I gave him a few more hints, such as the fact that I especially like Victorian era-esque jewelry.

Here is what he came up with:

Image

The announcement as posted on Facebook:

We’re [finally] engaged! After 5+ years, two job offers in the same town, and a pending graduation, we decided to not wait until we were rich enough (or at least not poor enough) to afford a fancy ring, big wedding, and extravagant honeymoon. For now we have a cute, vintage-style ring (much more my style, anyway), and a small wedding and cozy honeymoon to plan for the not-so-distant future. Oh, and each other. 🙂

I promise to not turn this into a wedding planning blog.  Honestly, the majority of the planning seems like a headache.  And the whole wedding and reception thing seems like the perfect way to invite everyone to judge you and your taste.  Maybe I don’t want the “traditional” open-bar and dance floor.  Maybe I don’t want the “traditional” 10 bridesmaids in matching dresses.  Maybe I don’t want a 5-tier fondant wedding cake that tastes like styrofoam but looks beautiful.  Maybe I don’t want to guilt people into feeling like they have to monetarily quantify their fondness of me through a wedding present.

hand hand2

Ok, rant over.  The main point is: we’re finally engaged!  We are very fortunate in so many things.  And finally, although suggestions are welcome, I refuse to let people tell me how I should do my wedding.  🙂

Oh, and I know the style of wedding dress I want.  Now just to find it in my price range… 🙂

I would share photos, but my boyfriend–no!–fiance sometimes reads my posts….

47 thoughts on “Official Engagement, Unofficial Ring

  1. Congratulations on your engagement! Your ring is so pretty. I hope you don’t feel too nervous about planning your wedding so you can enjoy the process. I think most people realize a wedding is a very personal thing, and won’t judge you, but will just be happy for you. It’s nice that it is a lot easier to do a lot of it yourself these days, with many stores carrying wedding supplies. I wish you and your fiancé all the best!

  2. Congrats! And the ring is beautiful! If there’s anything I learned from planning my own wedding, it’s that you’ve got to do what makes you happy. Good luck with the planning!

  3. Yay! Huge congratulations! The ring is beautiful! Typical rings are over-rated…. I actually have a sapphire for my ring and love it! If it helps, we planned our wedding in four months and did all of the catering ourselves-with the help of a friends (perks of having a chef husband to be and a wife to be who loves to bake)! It is YOUR (plural) day, don’t forget that. Enjoy this time, it is so exciting! 🙂

    1. Thanks! I agree that typical is overrated. Yeah, I am excited about my dress and figuring out the food….but the things like decorating…and the logistics of how/when you decorate and tear down stuff…I have no clue! I also am glad that you said that about it being our (plural) day! I get so frustrated when brides keep talking about how it is their special day, and act like they are the only person in the world, and their husband-to-be is only a prop who is allowed no opinions in the matter.

  4. Congratulations to you both!
    By the way, that ring is really pretty. Oh, and if you need any “words of wisdom” on planning a DIY wedding on a budget, feel free to e-mail me privately. I planned my own small wedding some years ago, made my own wedding invitations and RSVPs, wore vintage accessories purchased on eBay (hat, purse, shoes, gloves), designed my own dress and had it sewn by an oversees seamstress for a fraction of the price I would have paid here, and I also designed and made artificial (made of fabric and feathers) wedding bouquets, corsages and boutonnieres until last year. I would be glad to help if you need any help.

  5. Congratulations! I think now-a-days people are much more respectful of what the couple wants so there is a lot less “judging”. Weddings are unique as the people getting married, so do what you want. The most important thing — I think —- is to have fun! Yay! I am excited for you. I love weddings so I will be happy to read about it. 🙂

    1. Thank you! I hope you are right. I have my parents wanting me to have no wedding and just go to a courthouse…and I have most of the rest of the world wanting me to have a bigger wedding than I want/am able to responsibly do. And yes, as I said, I will not be turning this into a wedding planning blog, but I will be mentioning things every once in awhile, and I will do a full coverage of the wedding after the big day. 🙂

      1. Ok, so, listen to ME, a complete stranger, but one who is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT (!), have the wedding you and your fiance want – period! It is YOUR day, YOUR start to a new chapter, YOURS, YOURS, YOURS (I’m includimg him in all of these “yours”) so don’t let others tell you what to do (except me – tee hee!). And when you two do it your way you will love it and be content and THAT is really what everyone wants for you two. Many people have beautiful weddings on small budgets I am sure you can find a lot of info to allow you two do have a fantastic day without going into debt. Good luck. I will have to be content with whatever you post about it. :-).

  6. Congratulations on your engagement! That ring is beautiful, and absolutely unique! I guess it doesn’t matter how much $$$ you spend on rings, dresses and stuff, what matters is how happy you are in this relationship, and I bet you are over the moon!

  7. Congratulations from the other side of the world. Love, love, love your ring. And, as an old married lady (coming up for 22 years this year) have the wedding YOU want, however you want it and with whomever brings you joy to be sharing it with you!

    1. Thank you! And thank you for the reassurance. I am sure in the end, I will have the wedding I want, but there will be some difficult moments during the planning, but it is worth it! And I am fortunate to have a very supportive fiance.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

