Roasted Pepper and Turkey Sausage Pizza

Roasted Pepper and Turkey Sausage Pizza  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Pepperoni will always be my favourite.

yeast

But sometimes you have to branch out.

peppers peppersboard

I have been wanting to make my own sausage for awhile, because I want to get better at adding different seasonings to my food, and in the correct portions.  It seems that I err on the side of caution usually, and the result is a somewhat bland dish.

DSC_0127

With this sausage, I dumped a lot of seasonings in.  And more salt that usual.  The result?  A slightly less bland meal!  I guess I was still too conservative with the salt and other seasonings, but luckily more salt could be added just before eating, and it turned out well.

I also added a few non-roasted peppers at the last minute before I put the pizza in the oven, to provide a little extra crunch.  I had sliced the roasted peppers so thinly that I knew I would barely notice them.  I am glad I added them.

 

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 Whole Wheat Pizza Crust recipe

1 can tomato paste

1 can tomato sauce

sweet basil

garlic powder

onion powder

oregano

parsley

8 oz mozzarella cheese, shredded

1 lb ground turkey

sage

rosemary

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

pepper

9 mini sweet peppers, sliced

olive oil

Servings: 5

Heat oven to 450oF.  Slice the sweet peppers and arrange on a baking sheet.  Mist with olive oil, and bake for 10-15 minutes, checking to make sure that they do not burn.  Set aside.  Reduce oven to 400oF.  Prepare dough for the crust.  Sprinkle cornmeal, garlic, onion, and salt on the baking sheet, and spread the dough out on the baking sheet.  Bake for approximately 5-7 minutes, until the center of the dough has begun to rise and form a crust on top.  Remove and set aside.  Heat the tomato sauce, tomato paste, and seasonings in a saucepan over medium-low heat.  In a skillet over medium heat, add the sage, rosemary, salt, pepper, onion, and garlic to the turkey.  Fry and chop into pieces until cooked through and no pink remains.  Drain, and set aside.  When all the toppings are ready, spread the tomato sauce on the crust, add the turkey, the peppers, and sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the crust is beginning to brown on the edges, and the cheese has melted.  Enjoy!

DSC_0128 final

3 thoughts on “Roasted Pepper and Turkey Sausage Pizza

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

