Ratatouille

Ratatouille  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

It has been about six years since I first saw the Pixar film for the first time.

DSC_0016 DSC_0018

Back then I really didn’t cook or bake anything beyond the occasional batch of homemade chocolate chip cookies (or sometimes peanut butter chocolate chip).  Despite my lack of cooking-enthusiasm, the multi-coloured dish that loans its name to the title interested me.  It was so intricate–and delicious, if the movie is to be believed.  I did not even know what the ingredients were, but I knew I wanted to try it sometime.

DSC_0024 DSC_0025 DSC_0027

I finally got around to looking up the recipe!  Ratatouille is basically a big dish full of roasted vegetables covered in a little tomato sauce and herbs.  Sounds easy, right?  No, not really.  Sounds kind of boring and tasteless, right?  No, not really!

So many vegetables.  So much cutting.  (No, I do not own a mandolin slicer.  This is probably the only reason why I still possess all 10 fingertips, so I do not think this fact will be changing any time soon.)

DSC_0031 DSC_0039

But the roasted tomato-garlic sauce is the best tomato sauce I have ever eaten.  I wanted to eat it by itself!  And I do not typically like tomato-based sauces, so this is saying a lot.

DSC_0038Now I understand Anton Ego’s happy flashback to his childhood.

 

10 thoughts on “Ratatouille

    1. Yeah, I think this would be a great dish to make for lunch after an early-morning trip to the farmer’s market in the summer. Next time I will make a double layered ratatouille, because it goes fast!

  1. Adorable post (I’m a sucker for all thinks Pixar – we used Pixar stamps for wedding announcements)!!! I loved your pictures and now feel inclined to make the dish myself, though I am not sure I am ready for the maturity of the dish yet. Keep ’em coming :)!

    1. I love Pixar too! Though I am not using the stamps for my wedding announcements…my fiance might want to, if you give him the idea though! And I find it ironic that my most “mature” meal comes from a movie made for kids.

  2. I remember being especially impressed with that layered ratatouille, but then reminded myself that it was just a drawing. You’re so right–what really matters is the flavors. Yours looks spectacular! Those colors are popping 🙂

  3. Your story sounds like mine! The movie inspired me to try the dish too, but when it came to making my own, I’ve shied away because it seems like such a long process. But after reading this, I may just bite the bullet and make it. Looks so good!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

