Eggplant Bruschetta

Eggplant Bruschetta  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Even after making all that ratatouille, I still had leftover eggplant.

Really wanting to eat more roasted eggplant, I decided to make bruschetta.  Might as well use up the leftover (and staling–is that a word?) French bread.  Homemade bread only improves bruschetta.

Roasted eggplant.
Roasted eggplant.

I misted both sides of the bread slices with olive oil and toasted on the bottom rack of the oven for approximately 10 minutes while the eggplant and tomato were finishing up.  So good.

DSC_0047 DSC_0049 DSC_0051

The garlic tomatoes smell divine as they roast.  If you use fresh garlic (which I recommend), I am sure it would smell even better.  The eggplant was a nice, slight twist on the traditional fresh tomato-basil bruschetta.  I always love incorporating more vegetables anyway!

I only had a half of an eggplant left, so I doubled the recipe below to use a whole, large eggplant.

DSC_0050

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 medium or large eggplant, cubed

4 medium tomatoes, cubed

olive oil

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

sweet basil

balsamic vinegar

parmesan cheese, as desired

whole wheat baguette slices, toasted

Servings: 6 side servings

Heat the oven to 450oF.  Spread the tomato out over a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil.  Generously sprinkle garlic powder over the tomato.  Bake for approximately 40 minutes, or until the edge pieces are browning, and it appears partially dried out.  Toss the eggplant with olive oil and spread out over another baking sheet.  Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until the edges are lightly browned.  Combine eggplant and tomato in a bowl.  Add balsamic vinegar, salt, and basil and toss to combine.  Spoon a small amount onto baguette slices, and sprinkle with parmesan cheese if desired.  Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Eggplant Bruschetta

  1. Oh, I have eggplant and tomatoes (unusual for me), but not bread . . . really unusual. Don’t wanna go get bread in the rain. But this sounds great. Need to put ALL of the ingredients (well, the three mains) on my shopping list!

    (Pssst, wedding plans?)

          1. It will. It will all come together perfectly because whatever happens is just a moment in time so good or bad (and it will be good) you have a lifetime to remember or forget. 🙂 I am excited for you. I love weddings!

      1. I remember vividly buying my first eggplant at age 30 at a farmers’ market. Love at first bite and always regret first 29 eggplant-free years.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

