Sweet Potato Chips

Sweet Potato Chips  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

This recipe is still somewhat in progress for me.

slices

I managed to get several proper chips out of this, but a fair amount were too thick, and therefore too soft to be chips.  A few others were so thin that they were burnt badly and had to be discarded.  (Or eaten, just to see if they were still edible.)

guacamole

Overall, they came out nicely, even without the olive oil on top.  The taste was right, now if I could just slice them even more consistently…..then I will have a winner.  I used these to dip in guacamole.  Sweet potato and avocado were meant to go together.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 large sweet potato

olive oil

Servings: 2-3 small servings

Heat oven to 425oF.  Slice the sweet potato as thinly and evenly as you can.  Spray a baking sheet with a tiny bit of olive oil.  Lay the slices out evenly and not overlapping on the baking sheet.  Bake for 15-30 minutes, depending on the thickness of your sweet potato slices.  They should brown in some areas.  Allow to cool completely, and enjoy!

DSC_0043

20 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Chips

  1. nice! good call on the guac. The more rustic in appearance, the better I think. When I’ve had them in restaurants, the best are those made in-house and less-than-perfect in appearance. Yum 🙂

    1. True, I don’t want them to look perfect. And I always pick taste over appearance. That’s why I don’t prepare food or goodies for people ALL THE TIME. I’m naturally inclined to feed people, but I usually feel like my best dishes are rather ugly or messy.

  2. I see a challenge I’m going to have to take on. I sell several different kinds of slicers and would definitely love to learn which works best for potatoes, sweet potatoes and various kinds of other vegetables. These would be a great deal more healthful than processed versions.

  3. I am a fan of any kind of crispy snack; I bet these would be a great replacement to my favorite cheesy crackers but I think I’ll add some garlic powder and cayenne to spice things up a bit. Did you use a mandolin to slice, or are your knife skillz (with a Z) just that good?

    1. Yeah, these would be great with spices! I didn’t bother since I knew I was going to use mine with spicy guacamole. I just sliced these with a knife. I am scared of mandolin slicers. I like my fingertips, and would like to keep them for awhile.

  4. These look delicious! I feel your frustration at finding the perfect thickness. It’s amazing how even a smidgen of difference (in thickness) can give such such varied results. I’ve yet to succeed by hand cutting them…I’m mandoline dependent! 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

