Chocolate Mousse Brownies {No Added-Sugar}

Chocolate Mousse Brownies  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

I had been intending to make this recipe for over a year.

I could not find date paste.  After staring at the almond butters and coconut oils for a very long time, willing them to turn into date paste, an employee asked if she could help me.  Turned out she couldn’t.  No date paste.  And I was not buying coconut flour, when I had almond meal to use up.

Avocado-banana-applesauce puree.
Avocado-banana-applesauce puree.
Mixing in the sweet potato puree.
Mixing in the sweet potato puree.

As for the icing?  Uh, yeah, that was not happening.  Not today.  I do not have the money to buy hazelnut butter, or coconut milk, or other ingredients that I would not know what to do with the leftovers.  Oh yeah, and more date paste.

DSC_0041

I figured date paste was used to sweeten the brownies, so I used an overripe banana instead.  Still healthy and “natural” right?

The result was….not a brownie.  It was mousse!  Rather like my black bean experiment months ago.  The texture of these “brownies” are even softer than the black bean ones, but it is also sweeter.  I love the hint of banana that shines through these, so I was very happy that I made that substitution.  The almond meal?  It disappeared.  I might try to add more in the future to get more of a brownie texture, and less mousse.  The walnuts are really wonderful in these.

DSC_0068 DSC_0070

Why didn’t I make the icing?  I had too few of the ingredients, and this is healthier right?  (Ok, fine, I got a little tired after making these, sweet potato chips, and Sun-dried Tomato and Balsamic Chicken Pasta all in one evening.)

I never have super high expectations for these sort of recipes….but curiosity keeps me trying them!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 ripe avocado

1 c sweet potato puree

1/2 c applesauce

1 large, very ripe banana

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

1/4 c almond meal

1/2 c cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 c walnuts, chopped

Servings: 10

Heat the oven to 325oF.  Puree the avocado, banana, sweet potato, applesauce, and vanilla together.  In a bowl, sift together the almond meal, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda.  Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir until thoroughly mixed.  Whisk in eggs.  Fold in walnuts, and pour batter into a greased 8″x6″ dish.  (Or use a 8″x8″ or 9″x9″ and cut down the baking time accordingly.)  Bake for approximately 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Refrigerate until completely chilled.  Enjoy!

DSC_0071

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse Brownies {No Added-Sugar}

  1. so the question is, “are you glad you did?” Looks intriguing and even yummy. Kind of doughy-like? Agree that the recipes are compelling enough to make you try them, though you’re never sure the results will even be edible. Looks like you done good!

    1. Yes, overall, I am glad. I have been eating it with a spoon and adding extra walnuts to it. It is not very sweet, but that adds to the intensity of the chocolate, and it is somewhat like dark chocolate mousse. And I love dark chocolate. It definitely quiets my craving for sugary sweets after dinner.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

