Asparagus Gouda Frittata

Asparagus Gouda Frittata  DInner of Herbs.jpg

I’ve mentioned before how I love make-ahead breakfasts.

DSC_0001 DSC_0006

Asparagus is one of those foods that I hated for a long time, because I did not eat it the proper way.  For the longest time, I only had asparagus out of a can.  It cannot even be called asparagus.  Aspara-disgusting.

DSC_0011 DSC_0023

Fresh asparagus is an entirely different matter.  Crisp, rather than mushy.  Vibrantly green, not yellow-green.

DSC_0027 DSC_0032 DSC_0033

Perfect for a frittata!  Just a little gouda adds a creamy, smooth, saltiness that rounds out the dish wonderfully.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 lb fresh asparagus

olive oil

6 eggs

2 Tbsp milk

4-5 small mini sweet peppers, sliced

garlic

onion

1 oz gouda, crumbled

Servings: 6

Heat oven to 425oF.  In a cast iron skillet, toss the asparagus with the olive oil, and fry until lightly browned.  Add the mini sweet peppers, and fry until also lightly browned.  In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, garlic, and onion.  Pour over the asparagus and peppers.  Cook until the edges of the egg are set.  Sprinkle the gouda on top, and place the cast iron skillet in the oven.  Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the center is set and the cheese is melted.  Enjoy!

DSC_0035

15 thoughts on “Asparagus Gouda Frittata

  1. Ha, ha, ha. I thought I hate asparagus too. When I was young we ate it and it was from a can — so yuck. My mom claimed that it was fresh, but back then we didn’t get fresh veggies . . . everything came from a can! I love fresh asparagus. One time, though, it was $8.99/lb . . . . I don’t love it THAT much, when I can wait for asparagus season and get it for $1.99/lb!

    This looks yummy. But “make-ahead”? As in . . . .? The night before? Hours before?

  2. Sounds good! I LOVE gouda and asparagus – how awesome to find a way to put them together! And I’m with you on the whole canned asparagus thing! Disgusting!!! I personally love asparagus cut into pieces sautéed in butter, garlic salt, and pepper! My little 1-year-old loves it too!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

