Wedding Planning II

My bouquet is finished!

DSC_0005 DSC_0006 DSC_0014

I made each and every one of those cloth flowers.  Yes, I am proud of myself.  And I am trying to not think too much about how I have to make two more (slightly smaller) bouquets for the bridesmaids.

I believe I have also settled on a menu for the reception.

We are only having appetizers and cupcakes at the reception, since it is only a small wedding with a tight budget.  For now, I will only share the three flavours of cupcakes that I plan on having:

1. Peach cupcake with peach buttercream icing

2. White almond cupcake with cherry marshmallow-buttercream icing

3. Chocolate cupcake with chocolate buttercream icing (of course)

Soooo excited for the cupcakes…I won’t have one at the reception, most likely, but I will have to taste-test them while I am making them a day or two before the wedding!  🙂

My fiance is coming to visit on April 16th–and he is bring my “more traditional” ring.  I’m pretty excited to see it–I mean, him!—oh, whatever.  I’m excited to see both of them.  🙂

I took last week off from cooking–I had just moved home, and was starting yet another unpaid internship.  This time I am back at Walgreens, which means standing on my feet and running around for 8 hours straight every day.  By the time I came home, I was too tired and hungry to worry about cooking a meal.  Besides, I think it would be difficult to cook while sitting down, and more standing was out of the question.  This week I am more prepared, because I did some meal prep this weekend.  However, they were all re-runs from past favourite recipes:  Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie (one last time before the warm weather gets here!), Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust, and Toasted Coconut Apricot Granola Bars.  Cabbage Rolls will be later this week, but I will make more traditional ones rather than the Asian ones.

 

17 thoughts on “Wedding Planning II

  1. YAY! More wedding posts. I bet you were wondering where the crazy commentor who was dying for wedding posts was, huh? I’ve been tied up . . .

    But I love, love, love your bouquet. How fabulous. I am thinking/hoping you are keeping this right? So might you need to make THREE more? Two for the bridesmaids and one to toss? Or are you not doing the toss-y thing? 🙂 If I were at your wedding and you did do the toss-y thing – I would be an imposter (pretending I was single) just to get a shot at a small bouquet made with those gorgeous flowers! I could see myself elbowing someone just to catch it, too!

    1. Yes, I am planning on keeping it! And I’ve already heard of one or two other people jokingly say they were going to fight for the toss bouquet, so you may have some competition!

      1. Yay. I would imagine you would want to keep such a gorgeous creation and memory of your special day!

        And I doubt they were joking!!!! It is going to be fought over!

  2. You did such a great job with the bouquet!
    I used to make fabric and feather wedding flowers for sale, so I know how much work goes into these. Just make sure to store your bouquet (until the wedding) wrapped in tissue paper, in a box that can be closed, and include a couple packets of desiccant – such as silica gel – to prevent fabric from absorbing moisture from the air.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

