Tahini-Miso Slaw

Tahini-Miso Slaw  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Sometimes you need some help coming up with ideas.

I love salads that are packed with vegetables, but sometimes I get stuck in the typical lettuce-cucumber-tomato salad base rut.

This recipe proved to be interesting–the cranberries seemed maybe a little toooo interesting.  I did not have any dried cranberries on hand, so I did not get to find out if the cranberries were a good addition or not.  I did not miss them, though, because the dressing was wonderfully amazing and would make up for many things.

2

I barely changed the recipe, but included it below for convenience.

It made the perfect fresh, and new side to the first grilled hamburger of the year on a pretzel bun, and homemade sweet potato fries.  So good.

The Recipe

Ingredients

Slaw

1/4 small red cabbage, shredded

1 small crown broccoli, shredded

2 medium carrots, shredded

1/3 c roasted chashews

Dressing

1 Tbsp tahini

1 Tbsp miso

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1/2 inch cube of fresh ginger, finely grated

Servings: 10 small side salads

Toss together the shredded vegetables and the cashews.  In a small bowl, stir together the ingredients for the tahini-miso dressing, and serve on the side.  Enjoy!

final

 

7 thoughts on “Tahini-Miso Slaw

  1. I know what you mean about trying to come up with something new!!! Try Ty’s Thai Salad…I did over the holiday and got loads of positive responses. It reminds me of yours which sounds great, too!!!

      1. Sorry, it’s taken me awhile to get back to you about the recipe. I am not very computer savvy so I still can’t understand how to “link” but the recipe is posted on the Reader 4/20/2014 or you can find it on my blog, Egg in the Middle. I will someday get over being so “computer dumb,” I promise!!!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

