Pad Thai

Pad Thai  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Sometimes I am not in the mood to invent recipes.

Sometimes I just want to try already established, but new-to-me recipes.

I’ve never had pad thai.  So, I cannot tell you how authentic this recipe tastes…I can only assure you that it tastes very good.  Next time I would add less noodles, but I just like to have a bigger vegetable:noodle ratio in all of my meals.  At first I was scared of the sriracha sauce, but the massive amount of noodleage prevented the sriracha from burning everyone’s tongues off.

DSC_0042 DSC_0044

Again, never having had takeout pad thai, I cannot promise that it will be exactly the same.  But I can promise that it will be a fairly healthy, and fairly delicious meal.  🙂

DSC_0047

DSC_0050

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 medium carrots, julienned

1 1/2 c fresh broccoli, chopped

1 small red onion, roughly chopped

3 bella mushrooms, sliced

canola oil

1 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken, cooked and cubed

1 pkg thin rice noodles* (I actually used Chinese wheat noodles, and they were just fine)

2 eggs

2 Tbsp lime juice

1 1/2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce

2 Tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp sriracha sauce

1 1/2 Tbsp brown sugar, not packed

chopped cilantro, to taste

garlic

Servings: 8

In a large skillet over medium heat, sautee the carrots in the canola oil until they begin to soften.  Add the broccoli, onion, and mushroom and sautee until the vegetables reach the desired tenderness.  Pour vegetables into a bowl or onto a platter and set aside.  Cook the chicken in the same skillet until cooked through and lightly browned.  Set aside.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and prepare the noodles as directed on the package.  Drain and set aside.  In a small bowl, combine the lime juice, soy sauce, sriracha, rice vinegar, brown sugar, cilantro, and garlic.  Stir until combined.  Scramble two eggs and cook in the skillet over medium heat.  Set aside.   Combine the vegetables, chopped chicken, noodles, egg, and sauce in the large skillet.  Stir to combine, and serve.  Enjoy!

DSC_0053

8 thoughts on “Pad Thai

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

