Strawberry Poppyseed Salad

Strawberry Poppyseed Salad  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

It’s a recipe!

After disappearing for two months, then rattling on about my wedding for two weeks, I am finally going to post a recipe!  I have several more important non-food posts, but they can wait.

Prep that romaine.
Prep that romaine.

 

First, we must dive into this summery recipe before summer ends.

DSC_0810

As usual, I found a recipe that looked amazing…but then when I started to make it, I started playing with it, and ended up changing it fairly significantly.  Fortunately, the changes made the recipe healthier.  I cannot say that it made it tastier, never having tried the original, but it tastes so good, I don’t see how it would be possible that the original COULD taste better.

Delicious salad...
Delicious salad…

If a dressing is called “Strawberry Poppyseed”, I think the main ingredient should be strawberries, not oil.  I quickly changed that.  Despite my change, the texture was still amazing and dressing-like, for lack of a better word.  Next, if I am using ripe strawberries, why do I need so much sugar?  And thirdly, I am sure white vinegar would work just fine, but I know that strawberries and balsamic vinegar have a special relationship–might as well use balsamic vinegar instead, and give the dressing a little extra kick.

...even better with delicious dressing.
…even better with delicious dressing.

As for the salad, turkey bacon is marginally less unhealthy than real bacon, and I don’t care much for raw onion.  However, I do love nuts in my salad.  Walnuts it was.

Oh, and by the way….this dinner was to celebrate passing my board exams for my Indiana pharmacists’ license.  🙂

last

The Recipe

Ingredients

Salad

1 head romaine lettuce, roughly chopped

1/3 c strawberries, sliced

1/4 c walnuts, chopped

1/4 lb turkey bacon, cooked and broken into pieces

1/8 c feta cheese crumbles

Dressing

1 c ripe strawberries, halved

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

garlic powder

onion powder

2 tsp sugar

1 Tbsp poppyseeds

Servings: 4-6 salads

Toss salad ingredients together in a large bowl.  Set aside.  In a food processor, blend the strawberries until smooth.  Add the oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, onion, and sugar.  Blend until well combined.  Add the poppyseeds and pulse to mix.  Refrigerate, then pour over salad and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Poppyseed Salad

    1. Thank you, but I must disagree–there was a good deal of doubt. Especially coming out of the law exam for a state in which I had never worked. So many guesses went into that exam…but it’s over now! And I kind of built the kitchen palette around the spice jar lids. I knew I was probably going to do that, so when I got the spice jars 1 1/2 years ago, I made sure to pick a nice colour that I knew I would like for a long time…not just a passing fad.

  1. A belated congratulations on the wedding first of all. This dressing looks fun, what would it be like with no sugar (I’m on a low-sugar diet) or perhaps with some honey substituted for the sugar? I may give that a try and let you know.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

