Greek Coleslaw

Greek Coleslaw  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Since my husband had to work over the 4th of July weekend, we celebrated with a cookout on July 3rd.  We went to a nice state park just across the border, in Kentucky.

The weather had been consistently in the mid-90’s, with lots of humidity, but the temperatures dropped to mid-70’s for several days around the 4th of July weekend.  The weather was perfect for our cookout–definitely not cold, but not too warm either, with no wind.  It seems everytime I try to have a picnic or cookout, the wind tries to blow away my napkin, plate, and everything else.

DSC_0853

DSC_0858

 

Other than the mandatory hamburgers (with assorted toppings), I wanted to try something new.  I did not want to fall back on the usual and expected potato salad, so I decided to make a coleslaw.  Now, I have not had coleslaw in years, so I cannot remember exactly how it tastes.  All I know, is that as a kid, my tastebuds were not mature enough to appreciate the tanginess, and I declared that I did not like it.

Mine is a little dry.  I fixed the proportions for the recipe posted below.
Mine is a little dry. I fixed the proportions for the recipe posted below.

DSC_0842

Because of this, I cannot promise that this will taste like the most authentic coleslaw that you have ever eaten, but I can assure you that it tastes good, and that it is very healthy.  It had a nice, cool crunch that added lovely contrast to the delicious juicy hamburgers.

DSC_0877

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/4 head red cabbage, shredded

1/2 broccoli crown, shredded

1 large carrot, shredded

1/4 c 2% fat, plain Greek yogurt

1 tsp spicy mustard

1 tsp lemon juice

1 Tbsp white vinegar

2 tsp honey

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

salt

pepper

Servings: 3-5 servings

Toss the shredded cabbage, broccoli, and carrots together in a large bowl.  In a small bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, and stir until well combined.  Pour the sauce onto the vegetables, and toss to combine.  Refrigerate and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Greek Coleslaw

  1. looks good and authentic coleslaw can be plenty overrated. I like to try new recipes. Your husband, though, he doesn’t know quite what to think about what he’s eating, does he? lol. Am sure he enjoyed!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

