Recipe-in-Progress: Honey-Yogurt Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Honey-Yogurt Lemon Poppyseed Muffins  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Sitting in the kitchen, staring at some lemons, too exhausted to do much else, I wondered what I should do with my day off.  Sleeping all day sounded good, but not very reasonable.

Let's do this the old-fashioned way...
Let’s do this the old-fashioned way…

Then I realized: I have 2 fresh lemons.  Why not make something special with them?  Even better, I also had poppy seeds, because I had been wanting to make homemade lemon poppyseed muffins for awhile.

2

A minute or two later, my stand mixer was whirring away, and the astringent-yet-oh-so-pleasant smell of lemons filled the kitchen.  Yogurt and lemons seemed like the perfect (and healthier) match than lemons and butter.  You know what also goes so well with lemons?  Honey.  Why use sugar, when honey-lemon tea is the perfect combination?  Surely the same holds true for muffins!

No lemon-zester?  No problem.
No lemon-zester? No problem.

They turned out moist and flavourful, straight from the oven.  I maybe skimped a little on the fresh lemon juice, and overnight they turned rather dense, more like a heavy poundcake than the fluffier muffin I had originally intended.  Still good, but not what I had been aiming for.  To prevent this problem, I increased the leavening agents, and slightly decreased the amount of milk and yogurt in the recipe below.  Next time I shall also try whipping the egg whites (and maybe omitting the egg yolks…not sure yet) to increase light and fluffiness.

10 of the 12 muffins...wonder where the other 2 went?  'Tis a mystery.
10 of the 12 muffins…wonder where the other 2 went? ‘Tis a mystery.

Now….I have one lemon left…do I make some lemon bars that I have been wanting to make for almost 2 years now….or do I re-tackle this recipe?  It holds so much promise, but could be so much more!  I know: do both.  There are always more lemons at the store.  🙂

DSC_0149

As a side note…whippet mixes also love these muffins.  Evidently Isis can reach farther up on the counter than I realized, and downed 5 of these (fortunately small) muffins overnight.  She knew as soon as I came out in the morning that she had done the wrong thing.  I’m just glad for my dog that I tend to use much less butter and sugar in my baked goods, or else she might have quite the upset stomach right now!

DSC_0151

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 c  all-purpose flour

1/2 c white whole wheat flour

1 1/2 Tbsp poppy seeds

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

salt

1/4 c honey

1 Tbsp margarine

2 Tbsp oil

2 eggs

1/4 c milk

1/4 c low-fat vanilla yogurt

3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 Tbsp lemon zest

Servings: 12 muffins

Heat oven to 375oF.  In a bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a stand mixer, combine butter, oil, yogurt, milk, eggs, honey, and lemon juice, and whisk together.  Stir in dry ingredients, until just combined.  Fold in lemon poppy seeds and lemon zest.  Pour evenly into 12 lined muffin tins.  Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

 

8 thoughts on “Recipe-in-Progress: Honey-Yogurt Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

  1. You’re brave to tackle creating your own baking recipe! Thanks for sharing your recipe-in-progress. Maybe one day I’ll give creative baking a go… One day…

    1. I would have if I thought I could….Isis gave me terrible poison ivy, and the doctor gave me high-dose steroids. For those non-pharmacist people out there…that means no sleep, hearth palpitations, shakiness, and a constant stressful “hum” that seems to run through your body 24/7. It was not good, but the baking was therapeutic, if tiring.
      I finally took my last dose, and hope to soon be back to normal…and baking even more. 🙂 Can’t wait to make a fluffier version of these.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

