Recipe-in-Progress: Banana-Coconut Blueberry Muffins

Banana-Coconut Blueberry Muffins  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

Fresh blueberries are everywhere, and I cannot resist them.

Truthfully, I can hardly resist any fresh fruit.  But let’s focus on blueberries right now.  I had not had a blueberry muffin in a very long time, and I was in the baking mood again.  As usual, I wanted a slightly healthier blueberry muffin (because who can eat just one?) but I also wanted to do something a little different.  Adding banana in place of some fat would fulfill both requirements, but I still wanted to do something a little more.

Then I saw the coconut oil in the pantry.  Why not use that instead of the rest of the oil or butter?  It added a faint coconut flavour, but I knew as soon as I bit into one that I had fallen short.  The coconut needs to shine in these muffins as much as the blueberries.  Next time I will add plenty of shredded coconut to the tops of these muffins part way through the baking process to get a crunchy, toasty coconut shell.

I cannot wait!

DSC_0027

Also, sorry for the lackluster photos.  Our new apartment has some lighting issues, and I was once again struck by a baking mood a little late in the day to maximize the natural light.  Ah well, when I perfect the recipe, I will also perfect the photos, but I couldn’t wait to share.

The Recipe

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas, smashed

1 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/2 c vanilla yogurt

1/4 c brown sugar

2 eggs

1 c white whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

dash salt

1 c blueberries

Servings: 10 muffins

Heat oven to 375oF.  In a large bowl, smash bananas, and mix in the coconut oil, yogurt, brown sugar, and eggs.  In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Toss the blueberries in the flour mixture, then fold in the wet ingredients.  Measure equally between greased muffin tins, and bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out cleanly.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Recipe-in-Progress: Banana-Coconut Blueberry Muffins

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

