Steamed Veggie Quesadilla with Basil Aioli

Steamed Veggie Quesadilla with Basil Aioli  Dinner of Herbs.jpg

I tend to have little patience for roasting vegetables.  I love roasted vegetables, but I never seem to be patient enough to get them quiiiite done enough.

I have found the solution.  Cover them with aluminum foil, and they will never be too hard again!  If you want crispiness, just remove the aluminum foil before the last 5-10 minutes of the baking time.  However, for these wraps, I loved the super softness of the veggies.  The mushrooms were the perfect compliment to the vegetables in this wrap.  And basil aioli is amazing.  As soon as I run out of this small jar of aioli…I will have to look into making some homemade aioli.  But, as with most totally-new-to-me foods, I prefer to see what something is supposed to taste like, before I go out on a limb and make it myself.

I had originally thought about adding more spices to the vegetables, but decided against it when I found the basil aioli in the fridge.  I am glad I did not do more, because the extra virgin olive oil really shines with the aioli.  Perfect.  I ate these several days in a row, and made more of the vegetables a few days later when my parents came to visit.  So good!

DSC_0032 DSC_0033

So here is a quick, flavourful, easy lunch or dinner.  Enjoy!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 small eggplant, partially peeled, and diced

1 medium zucchini, partially peeled, and diced

1 large green pepper, diced

1 c baby bella mushrooms, sliced

extra virgin olive oil

garlic powder

onion powder

salt

provolone cheese

whole wheat tortilla

basil aioli

Servings: 6 small tortillas

Heat oven to 500oF.  Partially peel eggplant and zucchini.  Dice all vegetables and mushrooms into small, 1/2 inch cubes.  Drizzle with olive oil, garlic, onion, and salt, and spread on baking sheet, and cover with aluminum foil.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until desired tenderness.  In a small skillet slightly warm a tortilla.  Spread half of the tortilla with a thin layer of basil aioli, and add provolone cheese.  When cheese begins to melt, add veggies on half the quesadilla, and fold over.  Brown until desired crispness and brownness.  Enjoy!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

