Homemade Sushi: Date Night

DSC_0064_01

A little while ago, when my family came to visit, I enlisted my brother’s help to gather supplies for a surprise for my husband.

DSC_0048 DSC_0051

Since my brother spend a semester abroad in Japan, and has made sushi several times before, I asked him to take me to a local international market to gather supplies so that I could make homemade sushi with my husband for a less expensive and fun date night.  He was very helpful, and helped me find the proper sushi rice, nori, rice vinegar, and a few other fun things like taro cakes for dessert.  I could not wait to get started.

Rinsed sushi rice, ready to be prepared.
Rinsed sushi rice, ready to be prepared.
Who needs a rice cooker?
Who needs a rice cooker?

3

The following Sunday night, I decided it was time to conquer the sushi.  My brother, who got an expensive, fancy Japanese-model rice cooker for Christmas, seemed most concerned about my ability to make suitable rice, but my little boring pot (not even a rice cooker at all) did just fine.

DSC_0023 DSC_0036 DSC_0038 DSC_0039 DSC_0040 DSC_0041

Because I am terrified when it comes to raw eggs and meat, and I do not think the midwest is the prime place to buy fish anyway, we went with a simple vegetarian sushi.  I used avocado, egg, cucumber, and egg (with seasonings) as the filling for these simple sushi rolls.  I topped it with my personal favourite: pickled ginger.

DSC_0060 DSC_0062

I was very concerned about rolling the sushi and managing to cut it, without it exploding everywhere, or everything just gently sagging out of the nori.  Somehow, it worked out.  We even did our best to use chopsticks to eat our sushi.  The taro cakes made the perfect dessert.

The second roll...I did slightly better on the filling:rice ratio.
The second roll…I did slightly better on the filling:rice ratio.

Fun, inexpensive, and more entertaining than waiting for someone else to make the food for you.  🙂

This is what you do when you have leftovers, but not enough rice for another roll: sushi salad!
This is what you do when you have leftovers, but not enough rice for another roll: sushi salad!
2 thoughts on “Homemade Sushi: Date Night

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

