Butternut Squash-Walnut Ravioli

Sage Butternut Squash Ravioli  Dinner of Herbs

I won’t lie, this recipe takes a lot of work and patience.

But it is also a wonderful way to enjoy fall.  Squash and sage, wrapped in warm pasta…with a hint of contrasting texture from the crunchy walnut…perfect on a cool evening.  Roasting the squash is necessary in order to puree it, but it also adds some depth to the flavour.

1

So plan ahead, and let the anticipation grow as the smell of the roasting butternut squash and sage fills the kitchen, and the pasta comes together, and the ravioli takes shape.

DSC_0070

It will be worth it.

DSC_0077

The Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed

olive oil

sage

salt

mozzarella cheese, sliced thinly and then cubed

walnuts, chopped finely

1 recipe pasta, made with white whole wheat flour

Servings: approximately 4

Heat oven to 450oF.  Toss cubed butternut squash in olive oil, a generous amount of sage, and a little salt.  Spread on a baking sheet, and cover with aluminum foil.  Roast in oven for approximately 30 minutes, or until squash is very tender.  Remove from oven, and place in food processor and puree.  Start a large pot of boiling water.  Prepare pasta dough and lay the flattened pasta sheet on a floured surface.  Use a pizza cutter to cut the pasta into 2” squares.  Spoon approximately 1/2 tsp of squash puree into the center of half of the pasta squares.  Add a tiny bit of cheese and walnut to each pasta square with squash puree.  gently brush the edges of the pasta squares with water and press an empty pasta square over top of a square with squash.  Drop into boiling water, and leave for 2-4 minutes, until pasta floats.  Remove with slotted spoon, and enjoy!

last

8 thoughts on “Butternut Squash-Walnut Ravioli

  1. Ok, I have yet to make my own pasta —- which is really weird since I love pasta — so I probably won’t be trying this recipe anytime soon. But it sounds delicious. If I go to an Italian restaurant and they have this on their menu I order it. LOVE butternut squash, walnuts, and sage. Usually it is in a brown butter sauce. Ooooooo! Ya know, that just reminded me . . . . once it was in a red sauce and that was just WRONG!

    I did make another recipe of yours last night, but I messed (eyes rolling) up so I will be blogging about that!

      1. It WAS weird. It was as if the chef was trying to be different and it was just wrong!

        Spinach Artichoke Chicken

        I am linking to your recipe AND your site so I think WordPress will notify you when I post it. Doesn’t it? Since I am basically using YOUR recipe I am trying to send people to your site, but since I messed it up (I forgot to buy something) I have documented it. Is that ok?

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Concerns?

